Tavern Steak

Sounds manly doesn’t it?  Well, I am woman hear me roar, I too can make this… even my Sunshine can make it, it’s very simple.  But it’s good, cheap and a nice change.  Especially when you like burgers but are on a no carb diet….mind you I often serve this with mashed potatoes.  So….maybe not a low carb meal 🙂

Also, I am fully aware that once you read the recipe you will say: “that’s not what we call this dish”.  I understand you may be calling this simple supper by another name.  Great!  Don’t send me hate mail, please.  My inspiration for this dish is from a local hangout when I was younger…much younger.  I think the restaurant/brasserie is actually still open.  It was the Manoir (Manor) on St-John’s Blvd in Pointe-Claire (West Island, Montreal) where I grew up.  My brother use to order their tavern steak.  It was one of his favorites….well that and the beer!

Ingredients for the patties:

1.5 pounds ground beef (you could use ground chicken, turkey…etc..)

1/4 teaspoons each fresh: rosemary, thyme and marjoram chopped finely

Ingredients for the sauce:

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1/2 onions finely chopped

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

1/2 cup red wine (optional)

1 cup beef broth

1 packet mushroom gravy mix

1/2 teaspoon each fresh rosemary, thyme and marjoram

How to:

In a large bowl mix your ground beef with your fresh herbs, salt and pepper and form patties, I usually make about 5-6.  In a large pan, heat 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Cook your patties to your liking (mind you if you are using chicken please go ahead and cook until no longer pink).  Keep the cooked patties warm in a low temperature oven (200F) while you make your sauce.

In the SAME pan (please do not wash the pan…flavor!) Melt 1 tablespoon butter, add your mushrooms, onions and garlic.  Cook on medium-low heat for 5 minutes, stirring gently.  Add your red wine reduce for 2-3 minutes then add broth and gravy mix.  Turn heat up to medium-high and cook until nice and thick.  Add your fresh herbs and cook for 2-3 minutes more.

Serve, I like to serve with either green beans or peas.  Egg noodles, rice, couscous….all great with this dish but mashed potatoes with gravy! yum!

Picture for you my dears:

Printer friendly: Tavern Steak

Peace and Pubs,

Isabelle

My recipe is also linked on: Savannah\’s Savory Bites

13 thoughts on “Tavern Steak

  1. Pingback: Tavern Steak | Food Frenzy

  2. Pingback: Comfort Food « a little lunch

  3. Oh my god. Oh my god.

    I am so hungry this morning, and this is calling to me, Isabelle. Yes. In the morning.

    Watch out for my ass at your local tavern. You never know where I’ll eat.

    Thanks for this awesome recipe.

  4. Thank you for this recipe. I am going to make it soon. My mother cooked ground meat for me and daddy one time. We left her alone in my apartment in (at the time) Atlanta to run a car related errand and she made this and it was sooooo good. Growing up, she rarely bought ground meat, less to make sketti and meatballs or meatloaf.

    She would dice the onion very finely and add it to the ground meat and an egg. But very close and I had forgotten this, so happy you posted it.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

