Irish Cookies? not really…

OK, so this might be a far stretch of our imagination or memory…Does anyone remember the episode of Friends when Phoebe makes chocolate chips cookies and everyone raves about them.  Monica (who’s a chef) is dying to know the recipe.  Phoebe tells everyone it’s a secret recipe from a Mrs Heershieys (over pronouncing Hershey’s…) In the end, Monica realizes Phoebe’s mom has been making her “secret” super good cookies from the recipe on the side of the bag of Hershey’s chocolate chips.  My point is….as usual taking the long cut…

Super cute side note: my little bear used to ask us when she was little if we were taking the short cut or the long cut!  How cute is that!?

OK OK the cookies…my point is you can’t mess with good cookies.  Even I know when to step back and leave a recipe alone.  I am not trying to reinvent the wheel!  I just wanted to send good cookies to school to celebrate St-Patrick’s day.  At first, I thought I could make Irish Soda bread, but really?  Come on, the girls are in middle school….There isn’t one middle school boy or girl who will want to eat soda bread!   Cookies on the other hand: always a hit, especially when I add green food coloring and M&M’s!

I found this recipe a while back on Laura’s Best Recipe (blog listed at the bottom of mine).  What I like about it; is that it is so easy to “adapt” to different ingredients.  I will give you the link for hers and show you what I came up with to make mine “Irish” for one day!

Laura’s cookies:  Chewy and Decadent Gourmet Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Ingredients:

2 cups + 2 tbsp all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 sticks of unsalted at room temperature

1 1/2 cups packed golden brown sugar

1 large egg

2 tsp real vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon of green food coloring

1 1/2 cups M&M’s (or chocolate chips or toffee chips…)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  Combine flour, baking soda and salt in a bowl.   Set aside.

In a large mixing bowl, beat the butter and sugar together with a mixer – medium speed (approx 2 minutes). Beat in the egg, and vanilla until smooth.  You want to mix it long enough that the blend starts to lighten in color and looks like it’s beginning to whip (about 3 minutes).  Add your food coloring (if using)

Place mixer on the lowest speed and very slowly add the flour mixture a small amount at a time… approximately 1 minute.  Do not over mix.. just do this enough to blend the flour.  Pour in the M&M’s. (I like to mix my M&M’s with a wooden spoon)

Using a scoop or spoon, drop your cookie dough on your prepared baking sheet.  Cook in your preheated oven for 10-12 minutes.

Cool and send to school for crazy middle school kids to eat….and get a good sugar rush right at the start of their school day!

By the way, here is what I didn’t do/or changed from Laura’s recipe: she likes to melt the butter and cool it…I always forget and run out of time…room temperature works for me.  Also Laura uses 1 egg and 1 egg yolk…I forgot the first time and they tasted great anyway!  Laura likes to chill her dough before putting it on the baking sheet, again I forgot the first time; still tasted great.  Laura likes to use 3/4 cups dark chocolate chips and 3/4 cups extra dark chocolate chunks…I have kids who like M&M’s or toffee bits or peanut butter chips or chocolate chips…we are a crazy bunch!  And now I realize in the end that I did change/mess with her recipe… I am incorrigible!

Sadly, the picture doesn’t show the “green” but they do have a nice soft green color to them!  You’ll just have to use your imagination….again!

Printed friendly: Chocolate Chip Cookies

Peace and Happy St-Patrick’s Day!!!!!!!

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Irish Cookies? not really…

  1. I’m glad I’m not the only one who still quotes Friends episodes. I remember exactly the scene you are talking about. And I agree with you – if you’ve got a good recipe going, don’t mess with it too much. These cookies look great.

    • Kim, I thought I made too much for each class, surely the girls were going to bring the leftovers home….NOT! So I had to come up with a “new” dessert for tonight: Key Lime bread! coming up soon!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

