Pumpkin Hummus

Janine heard my plea about having too much fresh pumpkin in my freezer.  I have exhausted the family with my pumpkin pies, pumpkin breads, cakes, cookies….  I needed something fresh and new.  She is the bomb. (or da bomb as cousin Jennifer pointed out!)  We all love hummus around here, and honestly it is such a healthy change from dips.  Not that I don’t love a HOMEMADE ranch or french onion dip but you can’t mess with hummus!

I have some nice whole-wheat pitas that will compliment this pumpkin madness! So delicious!

Ingredients:

2 large garlic cloves

15 oz can Garbanzo beans (low sodium of course) drained

1 cup canned pumpkin (I used fresh)

1/2 cup freshly shredded Parmesan

3 tablespoons lime juice

3 tablespoons fat free Greek yogurt

1 teaspoon of Chipotle seasoning, but you could use any Southwest style seasoning

1/4 teaspoon salt (I used a pinch of celery salt)

3 tablespoons onion chopped (about 1/4 onion)

How to:

Put garlic in food processor until minced, add garbanzos process until chopped, add everything else puree until smooth.

Put in your serving dish, cover with plastic wrap and put in your refrigerator until ready to serve.

Great with pitas cut into small triangles, fresh-cut veggies or even whole wheat tortilla chips. So delicious it was perfect, I couldn’t stop eating it! YUM!

Makes 10 servings

Here is the beautiful dish!

Gorgeous and Healthy Pumpkin Hummus

Gorgeous and Healthy Pumpkin Hummus

Printer friendly: Pumpkin Hummus

Thanks Janini (yes that’s what I call her Janini not Janine…)

Peace and garbanzos,

Isabelli (yep that’s what she calls me)

7 thoughts on “Pumpkin Hummus

  1. Pingback: delicious pumpkin hummus perfect snack | Food Frenzy

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

