Another Chance Meatloaf

Meatloaf is not really welcome at our house.  Matt and the girls don’t really care for it.  Oddly enough my dad also doesn’t like meatloaf so my mom never made it.  I really love meatloaf, I feel so left out.  Over the years, I have tried here and there to make meatloaf…without much success.  Never have I heard: “wow, that was great, please make that again”.  NEVER.  But I am stubborn, I don’t give up.  So here I am trying to find yet another way to make this so my peeps love it.  One of the failed attempts was putting brown sugar on top of the meatloaf, needless to say I ended up eating it for a week.  No one would touch it.  I even tried putting hard boiled eggs in the middle…didn’t work at all.  I guess knowing your family should be your guide when you try to come up with a new recipe.  I should know this…I do know this.  Here is what “my” basic meatloaf is:

Ingredients:

1.5 pounds ground meat

3 slices wholewheat bread

1/2 cup milk

1 onion finely diced

1 carrot finely diced

1 celery rib finely diced

1 garlic clove finely chopped

salt and pepper

1/4 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 cup ketchup

2 eggs

1 tablespoon worcestershire sauce (I actually had to get the bottle out of the fridge to spell it)

splash hot sauce

7-8 bacon strips (I used thick bacon)

How to:

Preheat your oven to 375F

In a small bowl put your bread, I tear mine into “chunks”, then add your milk.  Set aside.

In a large bowl put your meat and all your ingredients except your bacon.  Add your milk soaked bread.  Using your hand, best tools you have! Mix everything well, but do not overwork your mixture, otherwise it will break down your meat and actually remove “meat” flavor.

In a Dutch oven or an oven proof pan, shape your meatloaf into a “you guessed it” loaf!  Dress with your bacon, let’s take a look:

just like a little bundle of joy

I like to tuck the bacon under the loaf, making a nice little packet.  Put in your preheated oven for 1 hour.  Remove from the oven and careful set your loaf on a serving platter.  Let this rest for 1-2 minutes.  Slice and serve!

perfect bacony package!

And here is one of our plates, served with smashed potatoes and gravy.

comfort food zone….right here!

OK….ready for more?

Quick gravy:

Using your pan from the oven, remove your loaf but do not clean the pan (but do remove excess fat!).  Add 1/2 cup of red wine and reduce for 1-2 minutes.  Add a green peppercorn gravy mix or brown gravy mix. (really, just use your favorite) Add 1 cup of beef broth.  Bring to a simmer and let this thicken.  Serve.

Printer friendly: Last Chance Meatloaf

Peace and Gravy;

Isabelle

NOTE: THANK YOU for reading my blog….It truly means the world to me.  Thank you, thank you, thank you🙂

Note #2: my recipe is also featured on Delightfully Dowling:  Mangia Mondays

as well as: Savannah\’s Savory Bites

12 thoughts on “Another Chance Meatloaf

  1. Meatloaf if one of if not the favorite at my house. My kids love it! I make it Italian style though with lots of parmesan and garlic. I think this recipe looks good and different. I am gonna have to try it!

  2. I feel your pain! I love meatloaf, but “the Hub” , not so much, but he will eat it! I love meatloaf sandwiches, so where I work, the sandwich will make a sandwich every now and them. I have put grated cheddar cheese on top and that’s a hit!

  3. My husband loves meatloaf but no one else likes it so much. He even orders it in restaurants… do people really do that???!!! Anyway I came across a recipe that I tried this week from Sandra Lee’s Crockpot 2 cookbook, called Smothered meatloaf. It turned out very good and all my haters liked it too!!

  4. My family is wary of meatloaf also, but I found a cheesy version that I call Cheeseburger Meatloaf and everyone eats it. However, it’s not exactly healthy, so I would love to try your version – it sounds delicious! Thanks so much for sharing!

  5. Gotta have it! Your meatloaf recipe is very close to mine, but I haven’t been making gravy! Was I out of my mind?!?!? That problem is about to be solved… Thanks dear Isabelle🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

