Scalloped Potatoes and Broccoli

Sometimes you just want to see greens.  I guess what I am trying to say is: “oh goodness, I am sick of this weather and I want winter to END!”  I don’t know if this is just in my head but this winter is the longest one ever… OK, OK, I know it’s not, it just feels like it.  I just want to see leaves, grass, sunshine, flip flops…aaaaaah!  So in order to trick myself, I have been cooking a lot of green food.  This may sound ridiculous to actually trick your own self.  But if you know me…it is doable!  Sad but true!  Feel better about yourself?  You should, I get that a lot!

I am not a big potato eater.  Fact: as a child if we went to McDonald’s I refused to eat the french fries and I would order the fish sandwich.  I am an odd duck…always have been!  So although I had a few potatoes to “use up”, I needed to add some GREEN to them.  Here comes: scalloped potatoes and broccoli.

Ingredients:

3 cups broccoli florets

5 red potatoes thinly sliced (if you do this ahead of time keep your potatoes in water so they don’t brown)

1 small-medium onion diced

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons flour

2 cups chicken broth

1 cup milk

2 cups shredded cheese (go crazy…use what you have in the fridge!)

How to:

Preheat your oven: 400F

Butter an 8X8 or 9X9 square dish (or what ever is clean and ready to go…)

In a large sauce pan melt your butter and add your onions.  Cook for 4-5 minutes until soft.  Add you flour and stir everything around cooking your roux (a cooked mixture of flour and fat used as a thickening agent in a soup or a sauce) for a few minutes more.  Add your chicken broth and milk, using a whisk, break up all your “lumps”.  Bring to a gently boil and let this thicken 3-5 minutes. Salt and pepper (about 1 teaspoon of each).

Time to assemble: place half of your potatoes at the bottom of your dish.  Top with 1/2 cup of shredded cheese.  Next, add two ladles full of your white sauce.  Top with your broccoli, 1/2 cup of cheese and a couple more ladles of sauce.  Finally the rest of your potatoes, 1/2 cup of cheese and all your sauce…you may have to work gently so the sauce has time to “get down” ( like Cool and The gang…oh dear).

Here is a picture of part of the assembly (part of it):

Cover with foil and put in your preheated oven for 30-40 minutes.  Remove foil, top with your last 1/2 cup of cheese and cook for 20 minutes more.  Serve.

Right out of the oven:

And a serving:

So good and the kids loved it!

Printer friendly: Scalloped potatoes and broccoli

Peace and fish sandwich,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Scalloped Potatoes and Broccoli

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

