Lime Basil Chicken

I had no plans on making my own recipe.  I had a perfectly delicious Rachael Ray recipe for Basil, Chili and lime Chicken….then I went to the store and found Ponzu!  Say what?   Bottom line –  Ponzu is a sauce with lime sometimes with either soy, mirin, and/or rice wine vinegar, doesn’t that sound delicious?  No worries if you can’t find it, I’ll tell you what to do…it is not really earth shattering news but you will be good to go!

Here is a picture of Ponzu:

Now, I had a new mission, just because I know how much Mr. Man loves lime and basil.  I had a new game plan: new sauce, more basil and add some vegetables.

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons fish sauce (found in the asian aisle)

3 tablespoons ponzu sauce

2 tablespoons soy sauce

4 teaspoons sugar

1 medium onion diced

4 garlic cloves crushed and finely chopped

2 cups snow peas (I roughly cut them in half…more or less )

3 pounds chicken breast or tenderloins (what ever is on sale) cut into bite size pieces

1 1/2 cups basil leaves roughly cut

1/4 cup green onions about 3 0r 4, for serving

Rice or noodles for serving

How to:

In a small bowl, combine fish sauce, ponzu sauce, soy sauce and sugar. Set aside

In a deep skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil, add your onions and garlic.  Cook on medium-low heat for 5 minutes, until tender.  Remove to a side plate while you cook your chicken.  Working in batches (and adding olive oil as needed) cook your chicken until no longer pink.  When all your chicken is cooked, return all to your pan.  Add your snow peas and onion mixture.  Cook for 2-3 minutes.  We like our snow peas crunchy not mushy but it’s your meal, so I trust you will make the right decision!

Add your sauce.  Cook for 2-3 minutes and then add your basil.  Cook for another 2-3 minutes and time to serve.  I served our chicken on a bed of rice but any long noodles would work great as well.  I also had more soy and ponzu on the table for anyone wishing to splash some more flavor!  Don’t forget to sprinkle the green onions on top of it all!

By the way, this should feed about 6….interestingly enough I didn’t have a single piece of chicken leftover for my lunch!  Matt said that as soon as I type the “printer friendly” version he wants a copy!  Not bad for a recipe on the fly!

Printer friendly: Lime Basil Chicken

Note: if you can’t find ponzu sauce: 3-4 tablespoons of soy sauce (preferably low sodium), 1-2 teaspoon of lime juice and 1 teaspoon of rice wine vinegar (regular white vinegar is fine)

Peace and Ponzu,

Isabelle

Note my recipe is also featured on Real Sustenance’s blog: Seasonal Sunday

5 thoughts on “Lime Basil Chicken

  1. This sounds incredible!! Im on a lime themed rampage right now🙂 Might make this for dinner tonight.

    Wanted to invite you to share this awesome recipe at a weekly event I host titled Seasonal Sundays! (as clearly this recipe is theme fitting!)

    Happy Sunday!
    Brittany

  2. Wow, I absolutely LOVE fresh basil! This looks wonderful. I will be giving it a try. Stoppy by from Seasonal Sunday.

    Michele@ sweetluvininthekitchen.blogspot.com

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

