Blond Beer Chicken Stew

This is something else that came to me while I was sweating it out at the gym.  Maybe I get really hungry or maybe I just find my zen in food!  A lot of us have either had beef stew in a dark lager or heard about it.  I have made it with Guinness Beer and although I am not in the least a beer drinker, the stew was delicious.  Did I say I am not a beer drinker?  I am REALLY not a beer drinker, give me a bottle of wine and we’ll talk….or I will anyway!  So for me to think of a stew that would be cooked in beer, that’s a far stretch of my imagination.  Here I go anyway, because since that lovely thought entered my mind I have not been able to get it out.  I need to feed the thought and the belly of course!

I did look and look for a recipe that would include chicken and beer.  It didn’t sound so complicated to me but I honestly haven’t found a whole lot to work with.  So I decided to make my own chicken stew with a blonde beer.  I have to say this turned out to be a hit.  Mr. Man and both our daughters LOVED it.  The flavors are so delicious and there is a “creaminess” that works so well with the chicken.

Here is what came of it….

Ingredients:

8 chicken thighs bone-in skinless (salt and pepper on both side please)

1 carrot chopped (pieces about 1/2″, I wanted to see my carrots!)

1 medium onion chopped

8-ounces sliced mushrooms(any variety will work)

2 garlic cloves finely chopped

2 12-ounces beer; I used a blond wheat beer, I would not recommend you use a dark beer for this.

1 6-ounce can tomato paste

1 tablespoon chopped fresh rosemary

2 bay leaves

1 cup chicken broth

Egg noodles for serving

How to:

In a large Dutch oven/or large pan, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Working in batches, sear your thighs (chicken that is…I guess you could also sear your own thighs…)  Place seared thighs on a side plate (they have to wait until everyone has a turn!).  Set seared thighs aside while you get everything else going!

Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil to your pan, add your carrots and onions.  Let this cook on medium heat for 4-5 minutes until translucent and fragrant.  Add your mushrooms and garlic.  Cook for 2-3 minutes more.  Add your beers, tomato paste, rosemary, bay leaves and chicken broth, bring this to a gently boil.  Time for the chicken thighs to meet up with everyone! Place your thighs in the pan, making sure the get covered with the beautiful broth!

Reduce heat to medium, cover and cook for 1 hour.  I like to peek in there now and then, it won’t hurt a thing!  You may also want to stir things up as well…kind of blend the flavors even more!  After an hour, remove the lid and check your seasoning.  Add salt and pepper if needed.  Bring this back to a boil, gently not raging inferno!  This will help reduce your sauce to a magical creamy thickness!

Serve over a bed of extra-large egg noodles, or rice, or couscous, or…you get the idea! 🙂

Printer friendly: Blond Beer Chicken Stew

Peace and beer,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Blond Beer Chicken Stew

  1. Pingback: World Beers Review » Blonde Beer Chicken Stew « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

