PB and Chocolate Crispy Rice Treats!

I couldn’t stop thinking about these while I was working out today.  It was to the point where I couldn’t even focus on what I was doing at the gym.  For me, that is a very dangerous situation, being that I am Queen Clumsy already.  I do not need to be obsessing about crispy rice treats.  But I wanted to make them with peanut butter and then I wanted chocolate…it was crazy.  So I did what I do best.  I went home, dropped everything and made them.  WOW, they are so good.  I couldn’t stop eating them.  I had to hide them from myself…I know that’s silly…but I do have a few ‘blonde” moments when I don’t remember where I put stuff…

Inspired by Ellie Krieger’s Peanut Butter Treats (in Health Mag. Sept. 2010)

Ingredients:

6 cups crispy rice treats

1/2 cup chopped salted peanuts

3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 cup peanut butter (don’t use low fat…well do what you would like but it won’t work exactly the same)

1/2 cup Agave Nectar (found in your baking aisle) or honey (I am not a fan of honey…don’t send hate mail)

How to:

Prepare a 9×11 or 8×10 pan, spray with cooking spray (you could also use butter).  Set aside.

In a large bowl, mix you cereal, peanuts and chocolate chips, set aside.

In a medium pan, slowly heat your peanut butter and agave nectar (or honey) until soft and well blended. DO NOT bring this to a boil.  Your heat should be on medium-low.  When ready, pour your “soft” peanut butter on your cereal mixture.  Using 2 rubber spatulas (that’s what works for me) mix everything gently (you don’t want to crush all your cereal) until all coated with peanut butter.  Pour in your prepared pan, gently press down.  Put this in your refrigerator until set; 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Cut into squares and yummy yummy in my tummy: ENJOY!

Note: these won’t hold together like a regular “marshmallow” rice treat would.  They are a bit more “loose”…but they are so delicious!

Printer friendly: PB and Chocolate Crispy Rice Treats

Have a sweet day!

Peace and treats,

Isabelle

Note: my recipe is also featured on Sweet as Sugar Cookies: Sweet for a Saturday #8

5 thoughts on “PB and Chocolate Crispy Rice Treats!

  1. It has been a long time since I made Peanut Butter Rice Krispy treats. Thanks for the yummy reminder how good they are.

    I found your link on Sweets for a Saturday and thought you might like to know I am giving away a copy of Lara Ferroni’s Doughnut Book, a donut pan, and an extra wide pastry bag for making French crullers on my blog. Stop by and enter to win. Winner will be announced on March 15. http://bit.ly/e29O8c

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

