Spicy Shrimp Arrabbiata

I have made this for my sister-in-law Kerri (Mr. Man’s sister) pretty much every time she comes to visit us.  I must have struck a nerve when she first asked me to come up with this recipe.  She loves extremely spicy food and I wanted to make sure it hit the spot.  Mind you not everyone needs to have it so spicy.  You know your crew, see what works best at your house.

Ingredients:

1 lb raw shrimp, cleaned, deveined and no shell

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1 medium onion diced

1 tablespoon butter

1 tablespoon olive oil

2 tablespoon crushed red pepper (or to your liking)

2 garlic cloves crushed and finely chopped

1 jar marinara sauce 28oz (even Giada sometimes uses the jar stuff!)

1/2 cup red wine (optional)

1 lb linguine or any pasta you like (I used whole-wheat this time…I like variety…in my pasta that is!)

How to:

In a large saucepan, heat your butter and olive oil.  Reduce heat to medium and add your onion.  Cook for 3-5 minutes until soft and translucent.  Add your mushroom and garlic.  Cook for 3-5 minutes more.  Add your wine and reduce for 2-3 minutes, pour your sauce in your pan and cook for 10-15 minutes.  When almost ready to eat add your shrimp and cook for 4-5 minutes.  Do not over cook your shrimp or they will get rubbery and tasteless.

Add a couple spoonfuls of your red sauce to your pasta, mix well.  Plate your pasta and top with LOTS more red sauce and shrimp.  Top with grated Parmesan cheese.

I served this with a great bread called: Parmesan Pull-Aparts! Delicious!

Parmesan Pull-Aparts from Ry Ry: Life Behind the Grill blog (so good and so easy): Parmesan Pull-Aparts

Printer friendly: Spicy Shrimp Arrabbiata

Sooooo delicious!

Peace and pull-aparts,

Isabelle

7 thoughts on “Spicy Shrimp Arrabbiata

  1. I’m hasving a cook at home day. I made this for supper and used 1 tablespoon of red pepper flakes. The house smelled wonderful and the kids couldn’t wait to try it. However, it was too spicy for them. I loved it. It cleared my sinuses. More leftovers for me I guess! We had chocolate frogs for dessert. We had the Maple-Bacon Biscuit Bake from the King Arthur Flour website for brunch.

  2. I love spicy food and this is a perfect recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    We invite you to share this post and some of your favorite food posts on Food Frenzy.
    Please check out our community.

  3. Pingback: Spicy Shrimp Arrabbiata | Food Frenzy

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

