Chicken Shells

The name is an exact translation from my mom: shell au poulet.  The shell is a puff pastry.  My mom made this for our family so many times when I was growing up.  I loved it then and I love it now.  I did change a few things…because I can’t leave well enough alone.  My mom has approved of my changes.  They are subtle changes nothing crazy, just fresh herbs and some chicken broth as opposed to only milk in my bechamel. (white sauce)

I also have a delicious recipe that I will share with you soon for Salmon and Eggs Shell, it is so good (shell-like above, not shell-like what the egg came in)!  I can’t wait to make them.  Sadly Mr. Man doesn’t care for salmon.  He will eat any fish you serve him.  However, he will only eat salmon if served to him as a guest.  I am not complaining, he has a very very short list of yuck items: arugula, salmon and olives.  That’s pretty good in my book.  He’s a keeper! 🙂

OK, back to my chicken shells, this is perfect if you have leftover chicken.  If you don’t, simply grab a few (about 3) boneless chicken breasts.  Cook them in a lovely bath of white wine and chicken broth.  Easy does it!  You need about 3 cups of cooked chicken.

Ingredients:

6 shells (Pepperidge farms frozen section)  Usually one per person unless you are feeding Matt, he needs 2…at least.

4 tablespoons butter

4 tablespoons flour

1 1/2 cup warm chicken broth

1 1/2 cup warm milk

3 cups cooked chicken cubed (I like large piece, I like to know I am eating chicken!)

1 cup carrots diced (small)

1/2 medium onion finely chopped

2 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 piece celery diced small (even the leafy top, very tasty)

1 cup frozen green beans thawed and cut in half

3/4 cup frozen peas thawed

1 teaspoon fresh thyme finely chopped

salt and pepper

How to:

Following the package instructions cook your shells and set aside (removing the top) .  I usually cook them while I make my sauce.  But I am such a multi tasker (not! I try)…and I burn everything at least once…I always have a backup!

In a large pan (I use my creuset 5 quart pot) melt your butter.  Add your onions, garlic, carrots and celery, let this cook for 5 minutes until tender.  Add your flour and stir well.  Cook for 1 minute more.  Add your chicken, stir everything around so everyone has a chance to say Hello!  Carefully and slowly (that’s more for me than you!) add your broth and your milk.  Bring this to a gentle boil, cook for 5-10 minutes until nice and thick.  Now time to add your peas, green beans and your fresh thyme.  Salt and pepper.  reduce heat and keep warm.

When you are ready to serve, place one shell on each plate and pour (for lack of a better word) your beautiful hot chicken and bechamel over each shell. Top with the little top….you’ll see what I mean! 🙂

Here is the box to look for at the grocery store:

Puff Pastry Shells

Puff Pastry Shells

Here are the shells:

 

such a flash back to my childhood!

such a flash back to my childhood!

hard to resit!

hard to resit!

Here is my delicious supper:

feels and smells like my mom's cooking :)

feels and smells like my mom’s cooking 🙂

Printer friendly: Chicken Shells

Have a wonderful day!

Peace and sea shells,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Chicken Shells

  1. I will have to try it with peas in the recipe, I usually just open a can and have them on the side which I love – & crispy fries on the side… ahhh, “chicken a la king” as we called it at home….

  2. This looks awesome — hate the fact that I will have to wait until tomorrow to make. Must make the Bang Bang Shrimp tonight. Kevin absolutely LOVES the Bang Bang Shrimp. Thanks so much for your blog — Kevin and I both follow you everyday!!!!

  3. Oh Isabelle, memories are flooding…growing up in New Zealand, mum made her version of this daily. It’s a popular dish in NZ called vol au vents. Main ingredients being mushrooms and chicken in a cream sauce. Thanks for the memories. I will make some for my family. Have a lovely day!

  4. Pingback: Creamy Pork Taco Soup | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

