Key Lime Cookies! Oh wow!

Awesome blossom!  I love homemade cookies, nothing new here.  I love citrus, wham bam thank you mam’….wow!  I am a bit nutty today!  Therefore I shall make cookie magic!  Aren’t you just wishing I’d get to the recipe and stop this non-sense?  no problemo daddio!

Here you go my sweet little prunes…(wow that is bizarre, even for me!)

Ingredients:

1 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch (that’s a first for me in cookies….I think)

1 cup flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter (I used salted- use what you have, that’s what I grabbed although I had unsalted)

1/2 cup sugar

1 egg yolk (mine was a large egg…use what you have…no worries mates)

2 teaspoon Key lime juice (I have a bottle from the store but you could use regular lime juice)

Grated zest of 3 Key limes, or zest of 1 lime

1/2 cup of chopped walnuts (I used pecans because I forgot to buy walnuts…just go with it!)

Preheat oven to 375F

Lightly grease a cookie sheet, line with parchment paper or use a Silpat.

In a medium bowl, mix together your cornstarch, flour, salt and baking powder.  Set aside.

In your mixing bowl, cream your butter and sugar until light and fluffy (like a poodle…no, not really).  Add your egg yolk, Key lime juice and zest.  Then add your dry ingredients.  As usual do not over mix.  Finally mix in your walnuts (or pecans in my case).

Drop by the teaspoonsful (I used my smallest “ice cream/cookie” spoon) on your prepared cookie sheet.  Bake for 10-12 minutes, until lightly golden.

This makes about 3 dozens.

before the oven:

Yum…after!

I found this recipe in this cool cookbook/pamplet from the Keys called : Key Lime cookin’.  How “a propos”!  I have more recipes coming from this little magic cookbook.  So delicious and easy!

By the way, here is what Matt said about the cookies: “I thought they were going to be dried little cookies but they are very moist and tasty, very good”!

In the words of our young generation: “love ya-mean it!”

Printer friendly: Key Lime Cookies

peace,

Isabelle

Note; my recipe is also featured on Sweet as sugar cookies: Sweet for a Saturday

5 thoughts on “Key Lime Cookies! Oh wow!

  1. Great, I came here through a google search and this article is 100% what i was looking for. When i find time i’ll definitely read some more articles on this site. Does this site have an RSS feed by the way? I prefer to add valuable sites to my feed reader, this way i can’t miss a single update… I searched for the RSS icon but cannot seem to find it…

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

