Lovely Meatballs!

We love meatballs around here.  I love that my recipe makes enough to freeze half and just like that I have a perfectly lovely dinner ready to go anytime I want.  My recipe is pretty simple because I found over the years that simple works.  Even last night when I made these again Mr. Man said: “how come mine don’t come out with taste?”  So we reviewed his recipe and bottom line nothing wrong with his (very close to mine) but I cook mine in the oven and keep the ingredient pretty simple.  My reasons for cooking them in the oven are as follows: 1. it’s easy! (yep, I don’t like complicated!)  2. it doesn’t stink up my house  3.  I find they are more moist (I almost wrote moister but I know it’s not a word…) 4. I don’t like crunchy bits on the outside of my meatballs.  5. When you cook them in your sauce, they really absorb many flavors of your sauce (red or white or whatever color).

Ingredients: (this makes roughly 50 meatballs, enough for 2 dinners/suppers)

1 medium to large onion finely diced

2 pounds ground beef (80-20)

1 pound ground pork

3 eggs

2 garlic cloves grated (try not to use the bottle stuff…it taste like…a bottle!)

1 cup of Italian bread crumbs

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon dried basil

1/2 cup Parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon pepper

How to:

First and most important (in my opinion) you need to cook your onions a little bit.  I personally do not like crunchy onions in my meatballs.  I like the meatballs to be tender and juicy.  In a medium size pan heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Add you onions and cook them on medium heat (you do not want to burn them) for about 5 minutes until soft and translucent.  Cool for 5 minutes.  Do not add hot onion to your meatball mixture, you will cook your eggs and have scramble eggs in your meatballs YUCK!

Preheat your oven 400F

Line 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper, Silpat or spray with cooking spray.

Next step: put everything in a very large bowl; ground beef, ground pork, eggs, garlic, breadcrumbs, oregano, basil, Parmesan, salt, pepper and cooled onions.  Using your hand (easiest and best way to do it) mix everything together.  Not too much but just so everything is combined.  Do not overwork your mixture.

Using a medium size scoop (see picture below, second one from the left….last one is for ice cream!), make medium size meatballs.  Divide them between your 2 prepared cookie sheets, spreading so they do not touch each other during cooking.

Here are my scoops (I know I am a nerd…amuse me!)

I love my scoops, I use them to make LOTS of things: cookies, muffins, MEATBALLS…

See:

Here are my little friends ready for the oven:

Cook in your preheated oven for 20 minutes.

I made meatball sandwiches last night with half of my meatballs.  I use my favorite marinara sauce and simply put my cooked meatballs in my sauce and simmer for 10-15 minutes.

Here is a look:

Time to assemble your subs, it is extremely easy.  Place your bread open on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Put 3-4 meatballs per sub,  spoon on extra sauce over everything and top with 1/3 cup of shredded cheese per sub (more or less…we love cheese!)

Place in your preheated oven for 8-10 minutes until hot and melted!  I like to serve this with a nice green salad.

This is great because you can make a few or a lot depending on your crowd!

Here is what I like to do to freeze my meatballs.  Place your COOLED meatballs on a parchment lined cookie sheet and put in your freezer.  When they are frozen put them in a resealable bag.  I like to freeze them first because then when I need just a few meatballs they are not all stuck together in the bag.  Same idea goes for freezing fruits or vegetables.

Printer friendly: Lovely Meatballs

Peace and scoops,

Isabelle

10 thoughts on “Lovely Meatballs!

  1. Not only did you give us a lovely recipe for Lovely Meatballs, you included so many tips and ideas. Meatball subs? YUM! And no, you are not a nerd for loving your scoops! 🙂

  2. I also use a cookie scoop for my meatballs, and I bake them too rather than fry them in a pan! Here’s another trick I use: I put my square cooling racks in the cookie sheet so that the meatballs are not touching the sheet; I find it keeps the bottoms from browning. 🙂

  3. That’s how I make my meatballs, too! I use a small cookie scoop and I bake them. What I do is put those cookie cooling racks on top of the cookie sheets, then the meatballs cook more evenly and don’t have that one brown, flattened side. 🙂 I agree, much faster and easier to bake the meatballs compared to pan-frying them. 🙂

      • Julie, never ever worry about repeating yourself! That is an awesome tip! People: listen to Julie! It’s a great idea 🙂 I just didn’t “edit” my post with your excellent idea….

  4. Pingback: Swedish Meatballs…sort of… « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

