A Homemade Life: by Molly Wizenberg

I’ve talked about this before; my love of books….cookbooks.  It might not be a healthy attachment but I like to maintain this little obsession of mine on a daily basis.  I also have a huge crush on “blog/cookbook/life story” books,  please pretend to be interested while I explain.  You might remember the movie Julie/Julia,  as most movie this was a book first.  BUT better yet, this one was a blog first.  As the story goes Julie makes her daily mission to cook everything from a classic Julia Child cookbook.  Great blog, great book (language questionable), so-so movie (except for the AMAZING Meryl Streep: she is pure gold!).

About 1 /2 year ago I came across a book called: A Homemade Life.  Such a fantastic book, I think I pretty much told everyone I knew (who likes to cook or eat!) to read it.  The story is easy to read and Molly’s recipes are delicious.  I can’t tell you how many times I have made her raspberry/blueberry pound cake.  She has a blog called: Orangette.  She and her husband also have a restaurant in Seattle called: Delaney.  Guess where I want to eat when I go to Seattle?

Pound Cake…here I go again, just like Whitesnake….(never mind)

Ingredients:

5 large eggs
1 2/3 cup granulated sugar
2 1/2 sticks unsalted butter, cut into tablespoon-size pieces, at room temperature, plus a bit more for the pan
2 Tbs Kirsch
2 cups plus 8 Tbs cake flour, plus a bit more for the pan
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 cup fresh raspberries
1 cup fresh blueberries

Generously butter a loaf pan or bundt, and dust it with flour, shaking out the excess. (Molly likes to use a bundt pan)

In the bowl of a food processor, blend together the eggs and the sugar until smooth and thick, about 1 minute, stopping once to scrape down the sides of the bowl. Add the butter and Kirsch, and blend until the mixture is fluffy, about 1 minute, stopping once to scrape down the bowl. Add 2 cups plus 6 Tbs flour, baking powder, and salt, and pulse twice or so to just combine. Do not overmix.

In a large bowl, toss the raspberries and blueberries with the remaining 2 Tbs flour. Using a rubber spatula, fold the batter into the berries. Transfer this finished batter to the prepared pan, spreading it evenly across the top. Place the pan on the center rack in a cold oven, and turn the oven to 300F. Bake until a toothpick or knife inserted in the cake’s center comes out clean, about 1 hour and 25 minutes. Cool the cake in the pan for 5 minutes; then invert it onto a rack to cool completely. Serve at room temperature.

note: if you use a loaf pan, you make have to adjust the cooking time, a little bit longer.

Feast your eyes on this:

Here is a printer friendly version: raspberry-blueberry-pound-cake

ALSO:  Because just like Miss Molly, I have a HUGE blackberry patch on our fence line.  Should you decide to use blackberries instead of raspberries or blueberries then do not put in the Kirsch, it will overpower the cake.

Most people who read this book set their heart on making the Gateau au Chocolat Fondant.  I’ve made the cake (Chicago\’s Chocolate Decadence ) but somehow I think the fact that her mom made this pound cake every time she visited friends speaks more to me than a fancy chocolate cake!  Call me sentimental, but that’s just the way I view my food!

Peace and blackberry!

Isabelle

5 thoughts on “A Homemade Life: by Molly Wizenberg

  1. I should not have looked at your cake photos first thing this morning — they’ll be on my mind all day… But never apologize for loving cookbooks. They’re like treasured friends!🙂

    P.S. I believe Molly is from Oklahoma originally — gotta love those Okie cooks!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

