Julie’s Oatmeal Chocolate Frogs

My friend Julie sent me this recipe.  I just love the name Frogs, how cute.  It is a cookie (sort of a no-bake cookie).  But since her dad calls them Frogs, then we too shall call them Frogs!  Julie and I went to high school together….a while back…in the 80’s!  We survived, and thanks to the power of Facebook we have now reconnected…oh! Mark Zuckerberg such magic you provide for us! 😉

I love cookies…homemade cookies.  I am not a fan of store bought anything, especially cookies.  So when Julie sent me this recipe, I was actually excited to try them, because the “technique” is different.  I did a happy little dance…not pretty!

Ingredients:

2 cups white sugar (I only use 1 cup but it’s up to you how much you want to use!)
1/2 cup butter or margarine
1/2 cup milk
6 tbsp cocoa
3 cups rolled oats
1 cup coconut flakes

Bring first 4 ingredients to a boil. Add oats and coconut flakes. Mix thoroughly. Drop spoonfuls onto a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper (spacing is not important; you won’t be baking them!). Place in refrigerator for about 1 hour to set. Enjoy!

HOW EASY IS THAT? I love it.

Here are my lovely cookies, before they were sent to cool down:

And after the big chill:

Thanks Julie, and thanks Julie’s Dad! 🙂 DELICIOUS!

Printer friendly: Julie’s Oatmeal Chocolate Frogs

Peace and froggies,

Isabelle

note: my recipe (well Julie’s) is also featured here: Sweet as sugar cookies

note #2: I have entered the cookies in a “culinary smackdown”…wish me luck 🙂  Smackdown battlecookies

19 thoughts on “Julie’s Oatmeal Chocolate Frogs

  1. I will totally enjoy making these with my DD6. She likes to cook and bake – without the worry of the oven she should love to show her independence making these. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Pingback: Heirloom Shortbread Cookies « Isabelle at home

  3. These look fabulous! I love the chocolate/peanut butter/oatmeal no-bakes, but coconut is one of my mostest favorite things, so I’m betting I’m going to love these, too!!

  4. I make these all the time, about once a week. I use evaporated milk instead of regular milk and let the mixture boil for a minute and a half. I don’t have to put them in the fridge to set, they set up on the counter in minutes. My family loves them. I also only use 4 tbsp cocoa, 3 1/2 cups quick oats, and don’t use the coconut. Also if the humidity is high these cookies will stay gooey.

  5. Pingback: Biscoff No Bake Cookies | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

