Lucky Pizza Bread

This is a twist on pizza/calzone.  Aunt Joyce (sassy pork) is also the one who gave me this recipe.  As I said before Aunt Joyce gives you a recipe like she’s telling you a fairy tale, there are never measurements.  So wanting to share this with you, I had to actually pay attention to what I was doing while making the dish.  I love to just hear recipes and then “make” them my own.  But I do understand that when sharing a recipe it helps if you have actual measurements.

Not to sound too old fashioned but this dish says “guys” to me….should a dirty martini say girl?  I don’t know but time will tell!

Ingredients:

1 jar favorite marinara sauce; yours, your mother in law’s, your mom’s, the store… (you need about 3 cups)

Pizza dough (store bought is perfectly acceptable)

1 lb turkey or pork sausage spicy or mild (I know choices-choices)

1 cup sliced mushrooms

1 3/4 cups of cheese

1 tablespoon of fresh basil

1 egg mixed with 1 teaspoon of water (egg wash)

oregano

Salt and Pepper

2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese

This is easy so I’ll try to make it sound like it’s the recipe to change the world!  Not really but I’m always hopeful!

Oven at 400F

On a large cookie sheet stretch out your pizza dough, you may want to sprinkle some semolina flour or corn meal or even spray with cooking spray on your sheet so it won’t stick.  Let this rest….meanwhile back at the ranch…

Start heating up your marinara sauce, I usually divide into 2 pans because Mr. Man and I like it spicy and the girls don’t.  Now I must stress to you that a great sauce will make this dish over the top great.  I always take the time to add fresh basil, grated fresh garlic and crushed red peppers to ours.  It’s truly the simple things that will add flavor.  Cook your sauce for 15 minutes at least to release all the flavors.

Cook your sausage, breaking it into small pieces, not too small because you want to actually have some texture in your bread.  Salt and Pepper to taste.  Spread your sausage on your dough leaving a 1″ border all around.  Spread your mushrooms then 1 1/2 cup of cheese.  Sprinkle 1 big tablespoon of oregano and basil.  Finally, take your egg wash and paint the border of the bread (where there should be no meat or anything else for that matter)  Here comes the fun part, time to fold.  I always make a mess so here is the easiest way (for me) I found.  Take one side ( starting with the narrow side of your dough) and fold it about 5 inches, then keep folding until you get a roll.  Turn your roll to fit best in your pan.  I like to put the seem under while cooking.  Paint with remaining egg wash, sprinkle with 1/2 teaspoon of oregano, and last 1/4 cup of cheese.

Here is a little picture story of the events:

Sausage goes first:

Then all the toppings:

Roll your pizza bread:

Bake this in the oven for 20-30 minutes.  Check after 20 minutes.

Serve this with your marinara sauce, Mr. Man loves to have a big slice (or 2) of the bread covered with the sauce, a sprinkle of crushed red peppers and some Parmesan cheese.  The kids like their sauce on the side or under the bread!  I am here to please so I serve it the way you want to eat…usually.

Here is my way:

This is an easy change from regular pizza…not that there is anything wrong with regular pizza.  You really could add what ever you like to the inside of the bread; green pepper, banana peppers, pepperonis…limitless!

Printer Friendly: Lucky Pizza Bread

Peace and pizza,

Isabelle

note: my recipe is also featured on Coupon Cookin’ : Tasty Traditions

8 thoughts on “Lucky Pizza Bread

  1. I used to make this when I lived in New York and I could go to any store and buy fresh pizza dough. When I moved back to Indiana I had to beg them at my local Pizza place to sell me the raw dough. Its against the law …. or rules … punishable by death or termination. I guess they think I’m going to go home and dissect it to find out the secret recipe.
    I won’t mention how I got them to sell it to me. Tee he he

  2. Pingback: 7 Facts about my Blog « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

