French Onion Soup, a classic.

There are days when all you need is a basic classic meal.  In my case, still battling the winter blues, I opted for french onion soup.  I didn’t have a plan to follow so I just came up with something easy.  Alone in the kitchen, albeit no one wanted to be in there with me.  So it was by choice that I started my quest for my classic soup.

All you need is love, well in this case onions… 😀

Ingredients:

2 tablespoons butter

3 medium-large onions, thinly sliced

2 teaspoons fresh thyme

1 bay leaf

1/2 cup vermouth or dry white wine

4 cups hot beef broth (homemade beef broth: Beef Broth and Tortellini Soup post)

4 slices country bread toasted

4 slices slices of Swiss cheese

How to:

Preheat your oven at 450F

In a large soup pot, melt your butter and add your onions.  Cook this on medium low for 15 minutes until your onions are soft and golden.  Add your thyme, your bay leaf and your vermouth (or wine) let this reduce for 2-3 minutes.  Next add your beef broth and bring this to a boil.  reduce to a simmer and cook for 15-20 minutes.  This can be made a day ahead and simply reheated prior to adding the “french” part! 😉

When ready divide your soup into your “ovenproof” serving bowls and top with a slice of toasted bread and then a slice of cheese for each bowl.  Put in your preheated oven for 5-10 minutes.  Keep an eye on this – some ovens have raging personalities and really take it out on cheese!  When your cheese is melted and slightly golden, remove from the oven and serve!

Here is (again) the ugly picture of my delicious soup.

I did take about 10 pictures of this soup but it is such a “messy” bowl.  It was delicious and so simple to make.  Oh, and it is pretty easy on the wallet as well.

Printer Friendly: French Onion Soup

Printer Friendly for Beef Broth: Beef Broth and Tortellini Soup

Have a lovely day my sweet little onions…(I don’t why I say these things…)

Peace and cheese 😀

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “French Onion Soup, a classic.

  1. I have the blues because we DON’T have the winter blues out here on the West Coast! This looks yummy, Isabelle. Inexpensive, too. My mom taught me that ugly, messy food was usually the tastiest. Of course, that was before the years of food photography… But she is right. 😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

