Blackberry Corn Cake

I know this sounds bizarre.  Here is the thing: I have an insane amount of blackberries in my freezer…INSANE!  I have to use them.  My friend Nancy has asked me to come up with a blackberry cobbler recipe for her.   I am working on it, but I keep on finding other recipes that can include my blackberries.  Sorry Nancy…soon, I promise, soon.

The recipe that influenced this one was a plum cornbread.  I love my cornbread (see post #1) it’s what started it all.  That being said, I haven’t found another cornbread I truly like.  What can I say, I think mine is delicious.  Now, using what I call a “regular” cornbread and making it into a dessert, well that sounds pretty good.  Which is why I am calling this a corn cake.  It is definitely more of a cake than bread.

Just beware I am feeling spunky today….I tell you this so you don’t laugh at me too much while reading this!  I have already hit my face twice with my hairdryer since yesterday.  I have spilled a perfectly good dirty martini at dinner last night and considered licking it off the counter (I didn’t but that’s alcohol abuse in my book).  I fell entering the gym this morning when I got my foot caught on an invisible object!  It’s been a long week and I’m in my kitchen: HAPPINESS!

What you will need:

2 cups blackberries

3 tablespoons sugar

1 tablespoon lemon zest

1/2 stick melted butter, cooled

3/4 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup yellow cornmeal

2 teaspoons baking powder

3 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup milk

3 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 eggs

How to:

Preheat your oven at 350F

Grease an 8X8 baking dish (mine is glass but use what you have, I won’t be mad!)

In a medium bowl put your blackberries and sugar.  Stir well and set aside.

In a large bowl put your dry ingredients: flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar and salt.

In another bowl mix you wet ingredients: your cooled melted butter, lemon zest, milk, eggs, honey and vanilla extract.  Make a well in the dry ingredients and pour your wet ingredients.  Mix well and pour into your prepared dish.

Time for the beautiful blackberries,  using your hands (or whatever you’re comfortable with) place your berries all over your batter.  Don’t drop the whole thing on your batter, you will have a big blackberry mess on your hands!  Pour all the juices left in the bowl all over the batter as well.

Here is my mess:

Put in your preheated oven for 30-35 minutes.

Serve with vanilla ice cream or  sweet yogurt.

The original recipe is from Anne Burrell from Food Network: Secret of a Restaurant Chef. Food Network

Printer Friendly: Blackberry Corn Cake

Peace and Blackberries,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Blackberry Corn Cake

  1. Looks like another one to put on my list! Looks yummy and I LOVE BLACKBERRIES! I have to tell you I also love reading your blog! You just crack me up and put a smile on my face!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

