Peanutella

I don’t normally like to re-post other people’s stuff.  I like to come up with my own creation but when I read this recipe I couldn’t help but try it and share it with you guys.  This is especially great if you have a child who is allergic to nuts!  Because this recipe calls for peanuts (which we all know is a legume not a nut….right?)  If your kids love Nutella, and the one poor kid who can’t eat it has been giving you the evil eye, then this is the solution.  This recipe has no hazelnut and no chemicals – HOMEMADE!

I found this delightful recipe on Smitten Kitchen’s blog. (see link in my blog roll)

The plan is easy:

2 cups shelled and skinned raw peanuts (I couldn’t find raw peanuts, so I used unsalted dry roasted)

1/2 cup of your darkest, richest unsweetened cocoa powder

1 1/4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt plus additional to taste (I used an extra 1/8 teaspoon)

3 tablespoons peanut oil

How to:

Heat the oven to 400 degrees.

Spread the peanuts evenly over a cookie sheet and roast until they darken, about 10 minutes, rattling them around a bit halfway through so they toast evenly. (If you, like me, were unable to find raw peanuts, just roast them for 5 minutes to deepen their flavor.)

Transfer the peanuts to a food processor and grind them for about 5 minutes.  Then they’ll become more of a paste and finally, they’ll liquefy.  Scrape down the sides as needed. (I takes a little while to get there…don’t give up!)

Eventually it will look like this:

Add the cocoa, sugar, salt and two tablespoons of the oil to the food processor and continue to process until well blended, about 1 minute.  Add more salt if needed.  Add the last tablespoon of oil if the consistency seems too thick.

Store in refrigerator up to a week in a covered container.

Here is a picture of my sweet delight:

Printer Friendly: Peanutella

Peace and peanuts,

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Peanutella

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

