Garden Soup (Potage Crecy)

This is the best translation I can do for this tasty little soup my mom made for us as kids: Garden Soup.  It’s not like it has tons of vegetables in it but just that they are readily available in most gardens.  I made this soup for “meatless Monday” at our house.  I do have a small confession…my family doesn’t know that I have been doing meatless Mondays.  I am not hiding it, I’m just not sharing the idea for the day!  Does that make me a bad person?  It is a lie if I don’t share?  I think not, I sleep well at night.

So I think this soup is extremely tasty and perfect for a lazy Sunday dinner or a meatless Monday night.  I would serve this with a grilled cheese sandwich, you know the kind that has 2 or 3 different cheeses, crispy and chewy all at the same time!  Tasty, tasty, tasty!

I have adapted this recipe from Chef Pol Martin whom I truly think my mom had a slight crush on when I was growing up!  She’s going to kill me for that one…. HI! Mom 😀

Ingredients:

1 tablespoon of butter

1 onion diced

4 large carrots peeled and diced

2 large potatoes peeled and diced

6 cup of vegetable broth (warmed)

1/2 teaspoon of thyme

1/2 teaspoon of basil

1/2 teaspoon of parsley

2 dried bay leaves

2 tablespoons of cream (optional)

Note: this dish is vegetarian but if you wanted to make it vegan please omit the cream and use oil instead of butter.

How to rumba (or make this soup…either way):

In a large dutch oven or your fave soup pot, melt your butter then add your diced onion.  Cook for 3-4 minutes until soft.  Add your carrots and your potatoes, cook for another 5 minutes.  Add your herbs, dried bay leaves and your vegetable broth.  Cook for 10-15 minutes.  Remove the bay leaves and using your immersion blender puree your soup until you have no visible lumps.  Add your cream and bring back to a boil.  Cook for 1-2 minutes more!  That’s it.

Serve!

Printer friendly: Garden Soup

Peace and rumba,

Isabelle

4 thoughts on “Garden Soup (Potage Crecy)

  1. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

