Peppery Arugula Pesto

take a peek....

take a peek….

I am a big fan of Arugula, in everything!  Unfortunately, Mr. Man hates it, not a little he just plain refuses to eat.  Mind you he is not the picky type at all so for him to refuse to eat something, well I’ve gotta respect it!  Instead of fighting a losing battle, I just make things with Arugula for myself.  I love to use it in salads or sandwiches.  Sometimes when I want a little kick in my pasta,  I make this pesto.  In fact, you can easily make it and freeze it in small portions, simply add a thin layer of olive oil on top to prevent browning.

This pesto is great with lots of things, for example: for pizzas; use it as your sauce and then top with thinly sliced tomatoes and lots of grated cheeses.  You can also use it in sandwiches, soups, stews, your bath…ha ha ha just checking to see if you were paying attention.  Matt says that’s not funny…I’m sticking with my comment because I’m a nerd and a funny one at that!

Ingredients:

4 cups of packed arugula

1/2 cup of toasted walnuts roughly chopped

6 cloves of garlic crushed and roughly chopped

1/2 cup of grated Parmesan cheese

1 teaspoon of salt

1 teaspoon of fresh ground pepper

3/4 cup of olive oil

How to:

Put all of your ingredients except your olive oil in your food processor and pulse until you get a somewhat fine texture, slowly add you olive oil and blend well until you get a creamy texture. DO NOT over blend otherwise you will get puree and no one wants to eat baby food (or should want to eat baby food!).

Here is what it should look like:

gorgeous green color and smelling delicious

gorgeous green color and smelling delicious

Here is a little peek at one of my “freezer bound” pesto containers:

can't have too much pesto ready at a moment's notice!

can’t have too much pesto ready at a moment’s notice!

Here is my lunch: (yum, more pasta please)

I ADORE this dish...I do...I really do!

I ADORE this dish…I do…I really do!

Printer friendly: Peppery Arugula Pesto

Peace and pesto,

Isabelle

Note: You can use the same quantities and technique and substitute your arugula with fresh basil or spinach or kale….etc…

5 thoughts on “Peppery Arugula Pesto

  1. omg I went to Oaken Barrell last night and had a dish very similar to this and it was wonderful! Chicken pesto pasta. It had a very yummy sauce with a very distinctive walnut flavor. I am gonna have to try this!

  2. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

