Rolled Beef/Mock Birds

We all seemed to have such a lovely time with the peanut butter bread from our dear Mrs. Simon Kander.  The Settlement Cookbook: “The way to a man’s heart”, circa 1931.  So, I thought I should try another recipe.  Now, I must admit it, it is with caution that I chose this particular one.  The thing is; she seems to be extremely fond of sweetbreads, liver and kidneys.  I, on the other hand am not.  I will try it but honestly I have to feed my family and a fight on a school night is more than I can handle after homework!

In this second installment of “how times have changed or not” (my little soap opera) we shall be cooking: Mock Birds.  In other words: rolled beef.  I read the recipe to Mr. Man and as usual he was full of suggestions: add this, change that…blah blah blah.  I quickly reminded him that the idea is for me to cook the recipe as is, should ingredients be unavailable then OK I should substitute. (that’s my story anyway…)

Mock Birds:

1 lb round steak or veal steak, 1/4 inch thick (I bought beef round top round 2.57lb, I always overbuy, needless to say I will have to adjust my quantities a bit)

1 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon of prepared mustard (I only had dijon)

1 tablespoon of chopped bacon fat (?)

1 teaspoon onion, chopped

1 tablespoon of pickle, chopped

2 tablespoon fat drippings (wow that’s just sounds bad, I am using olive oil and butter)

1 pint of boiling water (OK this is where I draw the line: I am using beef broth)

1 bay leaf (I love bay leaves says the nerd)

How to:

Cut your meat into 1/4 inch thick (I sliced mine and pounded it till I was happy/not frustrated anymore!).  I ended up with 6 slices 1/4 inch thick.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper, and spread with bacon, mustard, pickle and onion.

Note: I mixed my onions, mustard and pickles, then I divided the mixture and spread it on my steaks. Next I topped it with my chopped bacon (confession: I didn’t have bacon so I used pancetta)

Here is a not so cool pic of my “birds”:

Let’s continue: Roll each slice and fasten with either string or toothpicks (I used strings).  Sprinkle with flour (I roll them in it) and brown in fat.  (I used 1 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp of butter), add your water (beef broth) and simmer for 1 hour.   The recipe says to add water only when necessary!  I started with 1 cup of broth and added 1 more half way through.  Put your bay leaf in with your broth.

Here are my “birds” in my pan (before I added the broth)

After 1 hour, I removed the bay leaf from the sauce.  Make sure your sauce has reduced nicely.  Mine was perfect, nice and thick.  I simply removed the twine, cut each pieces in half, side of egg noodles and topped with a little bit of sauce.

This was very easy to make, and although the picture doesn’t do it justice: it was a pretty plate.

Maybe next time, I will try sweetbreads…nah, who am I kidding?  I like it too much when my family enjoys supper!  Matt even asked how to make this for the fire house.  I call this a good meal!

Printer friendly: Mock Birds

Peace and sweetbreads (not so much!)

Isabelle

p.s. My recipe is also featured on:  Coupon Cookin\’

10 thoughts on “Rolled Beef/Mock Birds

  1. Rouladin, Beef Birds! My German MIL made these as a staple and often for company. Reminds me to try it again! YUM!

    Thanks for the PW/TK invite🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

