Winter Rut

We’ve all been there, regardless of where you live.  Sometimes it is due to the winter blues.  But even when I lived in Florida, I would still get in those darn ruts of doing the same thing over and over again.  Which is why I try to get moving in different ways.  Find something completely different do to even if it is a one time thing.  I also feel the need to be outside, now I realize it can be extremely cold and bitter out there yet it’s worth a try.  Someone said to me the other day: “isn’t there an old Canadian saying that goes: there is no bad weather just bad clothes for said weather?”  Now as you know I grew up in Canada and I have never ever heard this lovely saying!

I do have to agree that even on the coldest day you can certainly find the proper attire to keep you warm.  So I encourage you to get out there and go for a 20 minutes walk and get some fresh air.  I have been trying to find new ways to get moving.  We took our girls ice skating over the Christmas break, we also introduced them to downhill skiing.  I would like to go cross-country skiing as well soon.  I do realize that this might not be “new” to me but with life’s busy schedule, I certainly don’t get a chance to get out there as much anymore.  Nevertheless, I am always happy when we do something different and fun as a family.

I am trying to challenge myself in new ways: Zumba (I’ll have a post on that soon), winter hiking, I teach boot camp with my neighbor (5:20AM!) twice a week.  I still go to the gym almost everyday.  If I don’t go I usually do something at home in terms of exercise.

Here is what I did (or didn’t do) yesterday: NO workout!  I know some of you who know me are in disbelief.  What I did do however is take the day off and go have lunch with my sweet husband!  In truth, it was our “Valentine’s day” lunch. We both didn’t have to be at work and he is on duty on the 14th!  So we decided to go downtown (yep the big city!) and treat ourselves to a nice lunch.  Walk around, look into stores and just sit there and talk.  I know it was simple and not that exciting but it was nice, and nice is good.

So in the end I guess my point is; try to keep it interesting and fun.  It doesn’t always have to be complicated and exhausting to make you feel better and keep you going!  Take a moment to breath and get out of your comfort zone once in a while!

Spring is around the corner….I know it!

One thought on “Winter Rut

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

