Spicy Chocolate Biscotti

Sometimes a recipe comes out of necessities.  Sometimes because that’s all that is left in the refrigerator or pantry.  But sometimes like today, you find an ingredient that begs to be utilized in some creative way.  This may not be the most innovative recipe I could come up with but I am not stopping until it comes out the way that it tastes in my mind.

Here is what I found, by accident at CVS of all places: Chili Dark Chocolate by Lindt

I even took a picture (nerd alert!):

I thought: “what could I dip in there?….BISCOTTI!”

So no sooner I got home, I was rummaging through too many cookbooks to admit and combined probably 5 recipes but in the end I didn’t have to go back to the store and I had something sweet and spicy to get me through the evening!

Ingredients:

2 1/4 cup of flour (plus more for dusting)

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/3 cup of pine nuts, roughly chopped (you could use almonds if you want, just chopped them up a bit)

zest of an orange (yes you can use a lemon)

juice of said orange (also yes to lemon juice) (2-3 tbsp)

1/4 teaspoon of almond extract (yes: vanilla is OK)

2 eggs (lightly beaten)

a pinch of salt (I used sea salt but kosher works as well)

3.5oz dark chocolate of your choice (although I found this chili chocolate, I know that any good dark chocolate will work, you may even want to put in an 1/8 teaspoon of chili powder)

How to:

Preheat oven at 350F

Grease a baking sheet.

In a large bowl sift flour and baking powder, add  the sugar, pine nuts, orange zest, orange juice, eggs, almond extract and salt. Mix well until you have a soft dough.  Turn the dough onto a floured surface and knead until smooth.  Make sure your counter or work surface is well floured.

Divide the dough into 2 equal portions and form into logs, about 1 in. thick and 1-2 inches wide. Place the logs on your baking sheets.

Bake in the preheated oven for 25 minutes.  Remove from the oven and let cool for 15 minutes.

Reduce oven to 300F

Using a serrated knife (makes life very easy….you know easy like Sunday morning!) cut your logs into 1in. slices and place cut side down on your cookie sheet. Bake for 10 minutes, turn and bake for 10 minutes more or until golden.  Let cool for 30 minutes.

Time for the spicy goodness, and I must tell you I tasted the chili chocolate and oh my!  It does have a little kick to it!  Very nice!

Using a double boiler (or in your microwave, but not for me because I can’t leave it without watching over it!) melt your chocolate, slowly (me) and when ready dip 1/4-1/3 of each biscotti in your awesome chocolaty goodness!  To make my life easy I use a brush to coat the chocolate on the biscotti.  Let them “dry” on a wire rack until chocolate has harden.

OH! JOY! Here they are:

Have a sweet day!

My recipe is also featured on Sweet as sugar Cookies: Sweets for a Saturday #5

4 thoughts on “Spicy Chocolate Biscotti

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

