Beef stroganoff…how long till dinner?

We are driving home from yet another kid’s event.  Could be soccer, 4-H, art show, blah blah blah…I am actually day dreaming about new knees!  Riding in a car for so long, eventually hurts my knees.  Our youngest is half listening to her music half pretending not to listen to our “lack” of conversation.  Mr. Man is tired, I’m tired, the whole world is tired.  Her sister Miss Sunshine is still at the event (or in her world talking to her girlfriends about life’s most important decisions).  I kid you not every restaurant we pass I say to myself: “Self, what would you order here?”  Then it happens…Bear (the young one) says: “Mom, how long is it going to take you to cook dinner?  I’m REALLY hungry!”  Then it happens AGAIN, Matt says: “Mom has everything ready, should be no more than 1hr…have a small something to tide you over!”  WHAT?  I am tired – do I really have to start right away?

Plan ahead:

1.5 pounds of stew beef or roast cut into small medium bite size (1 1/2 inches)

1 cup of flour seasoned with salt and pepper

1 tablespoon of olive oil

1 tablespoon of butter

1 medium onion diced

2 cups of sliced mushrooms (any kind will work, I had mini bellas but I have used white buttons as well)

1/2 cup of dry red wine (the bottle was open…I used it!)

2 cups of beef broth

1 teaspoon of fresh thyme finely chopped

1/3 cup of sour cream

Here I go (with blinders on):

In a large bowl put your flour, salt and pepper.  Put your meat (5 or 6 pieces at a time) in the flour and shake off excess.  Place on a plate, repeat until all your meat is coated with the flour.  In a large deep skillet heat your oil and butter.  Working in batches brown your meat on all sides about 2-3 minutes per side.  Remove to a plate and continue until all brown.  Please note that you should add oil and butter as needed, you do not want to cook your meat in a “dry” pan.  Once all your meat is a lovely crunchy brown, time to put your onions and mushroom on your pan.  Cook this on medium heat for 5 minutes until soft.  Add your meat, then add your red wine and reduce for 2-3 minutes.  Add your broth and fresh thyme, bring this to a boil and then reduce to a simmer (medium heat) cook for 15 minutes.

Finally add your sour cream and bring back to a boil, cook for 2 more minutes until thick and creamy.  Serve over your favorite noodles or rice.  I served mine over Israeli couscous (cooked in beef broth), I would not recommend regular couscous since it is so small but may I suggest you cook your noodles or rice in beef broth.  It is a nice change from plain noodles.

Printer friendly version: Beef Stroganoff

Peace and couscous,

Isabelle

2 thoughts on “Beef stroganoff…how long till dinner?

  1. This looks very tender! It has been years since I have worked with venison, but my daughter promises to bring some home from her next trip to visit family in TN. Do you recommend altering the method for this stew in any way for venison?

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

