Mexican Dip

OK, so my mom is French Canadian (duh) yet, she is the one that came up with this easy dip.  When I say easy, I mean REAL easy.  But it works and there is hardly ever any left.  Food doesn’t have to be complicated to “work”.  Yet, it is a bit unsettling to call it “Mexican” because other than the salsa there isn’t much Mexico in the dish.  But my mom named it, so I am sticking with it.

Ingredients:

8oz cream cheese at room temperature (I use low-fat)

8oz of your favorite salsa (regular, spicy and even green salsa works) I used my salsa verde

Mix together with a mixer, using a spoon won’t get the same “whipped” texture you are looking for.  Spread in a serving dish, I often use a pretty pie plate (9″in.) Put in the fridge while you are getting the other ingredients ready.

Next:

3 thinly sliced green onions (confession, I forgot to buy green onions, so I used 1 small onion finely chopped)

1 cup of shredded cheese (I often use the “mexican” blend)

2 medium tomatoes diced and drained (you don’t want your tomatoes’  juices to ruin the dip)

1/4 cup of Cilantro chopped (optional, if in season go for it, otherwise no worries)

Take your dip out of the fridge and top with your onions, cheeses, tomatoes and cilantro (if using).  Serve with tortilla chips.  We like the scoop type so you can “pick up” a good amount of dip on one chip!

My Mom's Mexican Dip

My Mom’s Mexican Dip

Note: this dip can be made ahead of time and kept cool until ready to serve.

Printer friendly version: Mexican Dip

This is so perfect for a last minute Super Bowl Party!

3 thoughts on “Mexican Dip

  1. Pingback: Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter Rolo Thumbprint Cookies « Isabelle at home

  2. Pingback: Roasted Tomatillos Salsa | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

