Pumpkin French Toast

I have a lot of pumpkin in my freezer.  A whole lot of it, this is due to the fact that out of nowhere our compost “grew” a bunch of pumpkins last summer!  We carved them, we decorated with them and of course I roasted them.  I make pumpkin bread a lot, but I have a little confession….when I froze the pumpkin I just put it in containers, I never looked at the quantity in each container, therefore I have quite the selection of “quantities”.  As you can imagine, I have uneven portions leftover when I use some for a recipe!  What to do with the rest?  Well, in good Isabelle fashion: make it up as you go!  I present to you: Pumpkin French toast.

Ingredients:

1/2 cup of pumpkin puree

1 egg

1/2 cup of cream or milk

1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg

1/8 teaspoon of ground cloves

1/8 teaspoon of ground allspice

1 tablespoon of sugar

8 slices of bread

powdered sugar and maple syrup (for serving)

In a large bowl mix your pumpkin, egg, milk, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, allspice and sugar.  Heat your griddle or large pan.  If you are using a large pan you will have to work in batches.  I would suggest you start your oven at 250F to have a warm place to put the French toasts while you are finishing up.  Grease your griddle with some butter.  Dip your pieces of bread one at a time (flipping them so both side get wet).  Place on your hot griddle, until golden brown on each side.

Serve your French toast with powdered sugar and maple syrup.

This is a very flexible recipe, you can double or even triple it.  You could also use leftover bananas (see another use for “old” frozen bananas!).  Also it is great to use homemade bread, the more rustic the better.

Printer friendly version: Pumpkin French Toast

Great for a lazy Saturday morning.

2 thoughts on “Pumpkin French Toast

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

