Green Enchiladas

I love love love Mexican food, which is why I make a lot of it at home, my version of it anyway.  Matt and I are always on the hunt for “local” stores who also have “unknown” taco bars and such.   I know there are a lot of purist out there who will faint at the idea of my enchiladas.  I do not mean to offend anyone, trust me, just like I don’t get offended when someone tells me they know how to make poutine and they are from Virginia.

POUTINE?  What is she talking about?  Well, not that I want to spend this entire post talking about the national dish of Quebec but the (very) short of it is: french fries, gravy and cheese curds.  NOT the gravy from biscuits and gravy but delicious brown gravy that has been simmering, loaded with spices and a touch of “je ne sais quoi”!  My friends, unless you have had it in a snack bar riding up to the Laurentides, you don’t know poutine! 🙂  But again, if someone was to come up with their version, I would gladly eat it!

Let’s head back South of the Border: Mexico!

Ingredientes que necesita:

10 flour tortillas

3 cups of chicken (shredded or small cubes)

4-ounces of cream cheese (low fat is fine)

1 1/2 cups of shredded mexican blend cheese ( keep 1/4 cup separately)

2 cups of  salsa verde (keep 1/2 cup separately)

Hot sauce and sour cream for serving.

In a large saucepan heat up your chicken gently, add your cream cheese and 1/2 cup of your salsa verde. Once nice and creamy add 1/4 cup of shredded mexican cheese.

Should look something like this:

I know, not the most glamorous picture but you can see the creaminess “factor”.  Remove from heat.  Preheat your oven at 400F.  Spray a large baking dish or grease.  Put 1/4 cup of your Salsa Verde at the bottom of your baking dish and set aside.  I use the assembly line technique to make my life easy;  I clear my counter top (make sure it’s clean) and lay my 10 tortillas on the counter.  Using a large spoon I distribute my chicken mixture equally between my tortillas.  You may want to put less and use 12, go for it, as long as it fits in your dish.  Roll you tortillas and lay them “seam” down in your dish.  Pour the remainder (1 1/2 cups) of your Salsa Verde over the enchiladas and top with the remaining cheeses (1 1/2 cups).   If you like extra cheese, have at it!

Before the oven:

Cover with foil and bake in the oven for 30 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for another 5-10 minutes until golden brown.

After the oven:

:)….little hick up in my plan, we had an ice storm the day I decided to make this and although I do my best to plan ahead, I missed the boat on that one!  We lost power at exactly 6pm when I was taking this out of the oven.  Therefore I couldn’t take a picture because it was pitch black in our house.  But I did have Bear take a picture the next day of my “leftover” lunch plate.  She did an awesome job!

Here goes:

Printer friendly: Green Chicken Enchiladas

Paz y el amor 😀

p.s. I shared this recipe here as well: Coupon Cookin\’

 

9 thoughts on “Green Enchiladas

  1. I found on Tasty Kitchen. This looks great! I host a recipe linky on Thursday’s. I would love for you to share your wonderful recipes. Have a great day!

  2. Pingback: Red Enchiladas « Isabelle at home

  3. i promise, this is not a slam but 2 suggestions and a story. 1) try the same recipe with corn tortillas (hear the song “TRADITION”) ‘sides i am prejudice having spent most of my life in texas! and personally think they taste better that way and are healthier too. 2) there are tons of spanish rice recipes out there which add such a nice complement to enchiladas, as well as color! an now a story: i went to live with my dad in germany, which was lovely but had, after a while, such a craving for mexican food that you would have thought i was an addict going through withdrawal, especially for enchiladas! so a friend of the family invited us over where she was make some ‘just’ for me. now you know that they have to have some kind of tortilla around some kind of mixture…so now image my eye popping when presented with a fried tortilla with meat, lettuce, and a fried egg on top! that’s a tostadas and a bloody weird one at that! i ate it but was not impressed. so kept my inner cravings to myself until we returned to the states and i could get my mom to take me for a fix asap! 14 yo should sometime be gagged!

  4. in reciprocation, i share my recipe for non reified beans:

    if you don’t want to start from scratch, take a can of beans (red, kidney, or my favorite, black beans) wash them off and throw them in a pan. add chopped onion (any kind but green) and minced garlic and water (i use water) or stock and cook until really. and i do mean, really soft and mushy. at that point you can smash them or run them thru your blender with salt and pepper to taste. serve ’em up! (not TRADITION) but healthier.)

    o, why black beans…at a new mexican restaurant we found a million years ago, that featured food from some internal are in mexico they used them instead of the tex-mex variety, and it was instant love. if you are at a mexican restaurant where they are giving you whole beans with the beany liquid, take a fork and smash them up and try them out (maybe i am still 14 but when desperate…)

    o, and those green onions i told you not to use, cut off the root ends and any part of the tops you don’t like, grill them and add a couple to each plate for added loveliness! same restaurant, same new love! (think it was food of cancun.)

  5. As you know my dear friend, I also LOVE Mexican food. Now I am hungry. I love these enchiladas, we call them our Isabelle night when I make them.

  6. Pingback: Roasted Tomatillos Salsa | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

