Salsa Verde

simply gorgeous

simply gorgeous

Woke up this morning and I guess I had something to prove….but to whom?  The kids won’t pay attention, husband at the Fire station and the dogs, well the dogs won’t care as long as I continue talking to them while I’m in the kitchen.  Here is what went on: baked bread (actually my bread machine did, but I put all the stuff in), wrote about my beef Stroganoff, more muffins, pumpkin bread, pumpkin french toasts…and then I made my salsa verde.  That’s when the trouble started.  This is an easy, so delicious and versatile salsa.  I used it to make my green enchiladas, my “Mexican” dip, for chips and salsa, for my white bean chicken chili…you get the idea!  So the trouble is I want to make all those other goodies that go with said salsa verde…..

This salsa is based on a technique I read in a Martha Stewart Living a few years ago.

Ingredients:

14 Tomatillos

4 cloves of garlic

1 medium onion

1-2 jalapenos (optional)

1 cup of chopped cilantro plus 1/4 cup more

2 tablespoons of olive oil

Salt and Pepper

First things first, the tomatillos have a husk, you MUST remove it.  Trust me, no other way around that one.  They will feel very sticky, that is normal.  Rinse them quickly under cold water to remove any residue.  Put them in a large pot and add a big tablespoon of salt and fill with water.  Bring this to a boil then reduce to a medium high heat.  Let this cook for about 10 minutes.  The tomatillos will start to darken, I like to move things around in the pot so that everyone gets a turn at the bottom!  I don’t want anyone to feel neglected!

a nice water bath

a nice water bath

Once they all look like they have no bright green,it is time to remove from the heat (this could take up to 15 minutes depending on the size of your tomatillos). Drain but keep 1/4 cup of the cooking liquids and put aside.  Chop your onion, your garlic and your jalapenos.  I know some of you might be against spicy food.  I understand but you may want to at least put 1/2 of a jalapeno in there.  It does add a tremendous amount of flavor.  But it’s your call.  (I will sometimes puree everything sans jalapenos, remove about 1 1/2 cup of the “not-spicy” salsa for the kids then add my jalapenos and puree again.)

Using your blender, even I know I can’t get away with my immersion blender on that one…sadly.  OK, put all your ingredients in your blender: cooked tomatillos, garlic, onion, jalapenos, cilantro, olive oil, salt (1 teaspoon) and pepper (1 teaspoon).  Pulse this until you get the consistency you like.  Personally I like a fine salsa for this one.  Put in a large bowl and cool in your refrigerator.  Should your salsa look too thick you may add a couple tablespoons of your cooking liquid.

where the magic happens

where the magic happens

When ready to use or serve pour into serving dish and top with the last 1/3 cup of cilantro.

Enjoy!

I don't know why but this makes me happy!

I don’t know why but this makes me happy!

Printer friendly version: Salsa Verde

Peace and Verde,

Isabelle

Go check out my recipe here:

9 thoughts on “Salsa Verde

  1. Pingback: Green Enchiladas and some poutine! « Isabelle at home

  2. Pingback: Mexican dip!? « Isabelle at home

  3. Isabelle, thanks so much for that recipe. I too love, love Mexican but especially salsa. I will be using this for sure. I love your blog!!!!!

  4. Pingback: UNproductivity: and Grilled Shrimp tacos! « Isabelle at home

  5. Pingback: Superbowl Grub | Isabelle at home

  6. Pingback: Roasted Tomatillos Salsa | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

