Muffins a la banana, PB and Chocolate

Peanut Butter, Banana and Chocolate Chips Muffins

Peanut Butter, Banana and Chocolate Chips Muffins

Well, I did again….couldn’t get it out of my head….those darn peanut butter, banana & chocolate chips cupcakes were invading my dreams.  And besides I had to come up with something else to use my dear frozen bananas!  I wanted a “healthy” solution for breakfast. I turned it into: peanut butter, banana and chocolate chips muffins!  Creative, right?  Nevertheless, I am happy with the end results.  The bonus is that I use healthy wholewheat flour.  See I try…when it suits my needs… but I try, that does count!

I hope these little bundles of joy make it till 3:15 when the girls get home from school or otherwise I will be in a muffin coma!

What you will need:

1 cup of flour

1 cup of whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon of baking powder

1/4 teaspoon of salt

1/2 cup of brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 thawed frozen banana (see banana bread recipe for the exciting story)

3/4 cup of milk

4 tablespoons of melted butter or canola oil

1/2 cup of peanut butter, smooth or crunchy

1 cup of chocolate chips

Preheat your oven at 400F

Grease or line a 12-cup muffin pan.

In a large bowl put your flours (I guess you could use only whole wheat flour…I tried but at my house I sometimes have to be a bit sneaky, hence 2 flours), baking powder, salt and brown sugar.  Mix well and set aside.

In another bowl mix your eggs, milk, peanut butter,banana and melted butter (cooled a bit) or oil.

Add your wet ingredients to your dry ingredients at once and mix until just combined (do not over mix), finally add your chocolate chips (stop eating them first!).  Gently fold them into the batter.

Spoon your batter into your muffin pan, I like to use an ice cream scoop to do this, just makes my life easier!

Bake for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.

The smell as usual is simply divine:  peanut butter, bananas and chocolate….oh, dear!

smells divine!

smells divine!

Printer friendly version: Peanut Butter, Banana & Chocolate Chips Muffins

Peace and lovin’ muffin!

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Muffins a la banana, PB and Chocolate

  1. I can’t wait to try these! I LOVE peanut butter and chocolate together. 😉 Maybe this weekend I can get a batch of these made… and if I like them, I’ll double the batch the next time and freeze them. I’m all about making large batches and freezing.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

