Joyce’s Sassy Pork with Mango Salsa

Matt’s Aunt Joyce is the “originator” for this recipe.  She made this pork for her cooking camp, she use to have every summer and it was fabulous!  I asked her for the recipe – but just like me it was all in her head!  So a little of this, a little of that, no real measurements.  But in the end, I figured it out!  I had to re-create it for you. No worries, I have exact measurements.  It is extremely easy to make and BONUS:  it’s healthy, and fun to say…I know, I shouldn’t share stuff like that with you guys.

Where to begin:

You must first marinate your pork.  I usually start mine in the morning.  I don’t think you need to marinate overnight, but what ever works for you.

Pork tenderloin: 2.5pounds (you could even go up to 3lb)

1 6-ounce can of pineapple juice

1/4 cup of olive oil

1 jalapeno pepper (optional) chopped

4 cloves of garlic, crushed and roughly chopped

1 small onion roughly chopped

1/3 cup of fresh cilantro (a big handful)

salt and pepper.

Mix all ingredients in a large resealable plastic bag.  Set in your refrigerator to do its thing!  From time to time, I like to walk by and massage my little packet….feels like we are connecting!

marinating!

When you are ready to start your dinner, remove the packet from the fridge for at least 20 minutes to take the chill out of your pork….you don’t want to start with a frigid pork!

Time to make the salsa (not time to make the donuts…although…)

2 mangoes diced

1/2 red onion finely diced

3 tablespoons of olive oil

2 tablespoons of lime juice

1 big handful of cilantro roughly chopped

Salt and Pepper (you need at least a good 1/4 teaspoon of salt)

1 jalapeno (optional) Mr. Man and I love hot stuff…no comments please! 😉

Mix all ingredients together and place in your refrigerator while you get the pork going.  This can be made ahead, sometimes I make it in the morning when I get the pork in the marinade.

gorgeous mango salsa

Let’s see….I’m still a little flustered about the hot stuff idea….

OK, OK, the pork!

Oven at 400F

Take a large pan or dutch oven, heat 1-2 tablespoons of olive oil.  Remove your pork from the plastic bag (do not throw away the marinade) and sear each side of your pork for about 5 minutes each side.   Turn the heat off and pour the remainder of your marinade all around your pork.  Cover and put in your hot oven and cook until no longer pink.  Should be about 1hr.-1 1/2hr.

Serve with rice and top with salsa….delicious, so much so that I took a picture of my plate last night and it didn’t turn out the way I wanted.  Decided I should take a “daylight” picture….there is no pork or salsa left!  So my sweet understand and trusting friends, here is the ugly picture.  But please, pretty please, believe me when I tell you how delicious this pork truly is!

not the best pic but so so delicious!

Note #1: if you are using the “thinner” pork tenderloins, adjust your cooking time.  They tend to cook much faster.

Note #2:  weather permitting we like to grill this pork, absolutely delicious!

Here is the printer friendly version: Sassy Pork and Mango Salsa

Peace and hot stuff!

Isabelle

Note: recipe also on Amee’s Savory Dish: Fit and Fabulous Fridays

7 thoughts on “Joyce’s Sassy Pork with Mango Salsa

  1. Don’t worry about the picture, because I believe you–it sounds delicious! =) The pineapple juice reminds me of a recipe I just read for tacos al pastor. And the salsa–yum!

  2. Pingback: New Technology, Old Isabelle & Same Salsa | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

