Bang Bang Shrimp

If you have the luck to have the restaurant Bonefish Grill near you, then you know exactly what I am talking about.  If you do not, have no fear I plan on sharing a recipe you can make at home!  I know, I am earning all my brownie points!   Bonefish Grill has Bang Bang Shrimp on their appetizer menu and they have been know to run out of them on a busy night.  Other restaurants also have Bang Bang Shrimp, they shall remain nameless but if your #1 items are dessert made with cream cheese….maybe you shouldn’t try to imitate an amazing shrimp dish!

Matt loves Bang Bang Shrimp, so it’s no surprise that he researched this recipe and found one that he wanted me to try.  He is such a dear always emailing me recipes for me to try at home!   Because I don’t do enough research on my own!!!!  I am just kidding,  I love that he trusts me to make anything – even “famous” recipes from restaurants.

At the restaurant, they serve the shrimp on a bed of thinly shredded lettuce, in a “cone” shape dish with chopped sticks.  I do not have a cone shape dish but I do have chopped sticks!  Lucky me!

Ingredients:

1/2 cup mayonnaise
1/4 cup Thai Sweet Chili Sauce
3 drops Sriracha Hot Chili Sauce (or to taste)
1 pound shelled and deveined shrimp
Dry cornstarch
oil for frying
lettuce
chopped scallions

How to:

Mix mayonnaise with Thai Sweet Chili Sauce.  Add hot sauce to taste.  Set aside.

Dredge the shrimp in cornstarch.  Deep fat fry the shrimp until lightly brown.  Drain on paper towel, put in a bowl and coat with the sauce.

Serve in a shredded lettuce lined bowl, top with chopped scallions.

Note: I did not deep fry my shrimp I pan fried them in a little bit of oil….

Here is what we “plated”….I hate to be a stinker but I asked my lovely and beautiful daughters to be in charge of taking the picture…one would think that they would “clean” the plate prior to taking the pic??? Oh well, let’s call it “natural” plating!

 

YUM!


It was absolutely DELICIOUS!  I mean DELICIOUS.  The girls were fighting over the last shrimp.  Even if you have never been to Bonefish Grill, please try this recipe.  It is extremely easy and quick.  You won’t have to go back to the restaurant when you have a craving for these great shrimp….but when you are in desperate need of their dirty martinis, I guess you’re on your own!

Here is the link to the recipe Matt found: Bang Bang Shrimp

Printer friendly version: Bang Bang Shrimp

Peace and Shrimp,

Isabelle

By the way, here is a picture of the sweet chili sauce and sriracha sauce:

Note: You can find the Sriracha sauce at Walmart and Meijer’s (here in Indiana) also most Asian stores will carry it. In Canada, I found out that Maxi is a good place to find it and again most Asian stores.  Let me know if you have any problems.  This sauce “makes” this dish.  It is a must!  Look for it in the “ethnic” aisle!  Funny here in Indiana, there is Canadian stuff in the ethnic section!  I love it!


6 thoughts on “Bang Bang Shrimp

  1. Isabelle, where can I find “sriracha” in Quebec??? Or what can I use instead of that??? Sorry for the reader but I can translate this…”Pierre capote sur les crevettes”””

    Bye Isabelle…Super le blog!!!

    • Marie, Here we can easily find it at Walmart or any Asian store, I don’t think you have one in Beauce but maybe Quebec city? I will also email you a link for an online order. Once you try this, assuming you like hot stuff, you will love it! Et les crevettes elles sont SUPER delicieuses!

  2. Iz, Can’t wait to try this recipe!! I noticed in your post below that you said you got the 2 spice sauces at WalMart. I haven’t seen them before. Did you just get them in the Asian foods section?

  3. Isabelle, This recipe turned out great, we put alot more of sriracha sauce on it, Jeff loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

