How old are you?

Here is a funny little story that happened to me while I was at school substituting back in October.  I took the kids for a RR break. I was standing there making small talk with a few of the students that were back in line.  This sweet little 4th grade girl looks up at me and says: “How old are you?”.  I just smiled at her.  She then says: “28 or 29?”  Oh, how sweet is that?  I open my mouth only to be quickly interrupted by a “not so sweet” 4th grade boy, who says at the top of his lungs: “29? Are you serious? Come on, look at her, she is at least 56!” OH DEAR LORD!  What’s up with that?  I just busted out laughing.  To be honest, he is a very sweet boy.

Our daughters are also part of this interesting age game.  Whenever someone asks for my age or their dad’s, they don’t say our age but always: “Mom is older than Dad by 2 years!”  Geez, thanks….note to self: “stop feeding these children!”

But, truth is I don’t worry about my age.  I never have, I have always been glad to be where I am at this exact time!  Why worry?  I can’t change my age, no one can change their age.  Yes, you could lie but why?  Haven’t you earned every bit of this?  I sure have!

By the way, I’m 41😀

6 thoughts on “How old are you?

  1. Funny you should blog about age. Wednesday night my best friend from grade school and I went to the magic game to celebrate our birthdays. Hers is the 16th of Jan, mine exactly a week later on the 23rd. Anyway, she was talking about turning 42 this year and I corrected her, claiming we are turning 43. She knew we were a week apart, born the same year and just sat there with a confused look on her face!! Apparently, I was the confused one and told everyone all year I was 42!! So tomorrow on my birthday, I get a free year (so to speak). And yes, I’m proud to be a blonde!!! Keep up the great work Iz!

  2. I, too, am always frank about my age. What’s there too hide. My mother died at the young age of 54 and I feel blessed that I have outlived her.

  3. Hi . . . it’s “cakerocks” from Tasty Kitchen. I love your writing!! It is so honest. So refreshing! FYI I’m in the 41 club too!🙂 I’m loving your blog . . . from the food to the health tips. It’s a great place to visit. Thank you!!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

