Labor of Love Risotto

Patience is a virtue I do not possess.  Risotto takes time and patience.  I love risotto!  So I am putting aside my short coming and borrowing patience from the world and going for it.  All kidding aside, I make risotto quite often, it’s such a versatile dish.  Here is one of my favorites: Mushroom Risotto with red wine.  It is so delicious and warms you from the inside out!

What you need:

1 onion finely diced

1 cup of chopped mushrooms (you could use 1 1/2 cup if you are a true mushroom lover)

1 1/4 cup of Arborio rice

1/2 cup of dry red wine

1 teaspoon of finely chopped rosemary

4 to 5 cups of beef broth

1/2 cup of blue cheese or gorgonzola (optional)

Before I start, I understand that not everyone is a fan of blue cheese but please let that not sway you away from this awesome recipe.  I put these ingredients together because they all say woodsy earthy flavors to me.

Here we go, first give yourself time.  Risotto takes time!  Relax, have a glass of wine, enjoy the cooking!  In a large pot (dutch oven) melt 2 tablespoons of butter.  Add your onions, cook for a few minutes then add your mushrooms.  Cook this for 4-5 minutes on medium heat. (you do not want this to brown but simple get tender)  Add your rice and stir well.  Cook for a few minutes more than add your wine.  Let this simmer until almost evaporated.  Add your fresh rosemary.  Then start adding your broth 1/2 cup at a time, letting it evaporate/absorb before adding another 1/2 cup.  This is where patience is your friend: do not leave this alone, you have to stick around to watch it all happen.  You do not want your risotto to dry up between the 1/2 cups of broth, it will “burn” and burnt food tastes bad!  This process should take up to 30 minutes but it is worth it.  Once you get close to 4 cups of broth in your risotto, you want to grab a spoon and taste what is happening.  You want your rice tender and creamy.  If there is still a bite (hard rice)  keep going with your broth until you get the right texture.  I usually end up using 4 1/2 cup of broth.

Now if you are willing to give it a try, turn off the heat and put your blue cheese in and mix well.  The heat from the risotto will melt this delicious flavor.  You will not see chunks of blue cheese but the taste is amazing: a touch of tartness, salty and creamy!

Should you not want to try the cheese, by all means don’t.  Here is what you should do: 2 tablespoons of butter, stir well until all melted!  If you want you could also add 1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese.  That’s it, the creaminess will be wonderful!

Time to serve, I always top each serving with fresh ground pepper and a sprinkle of Parmesan cheese.

Printer friendly version: Mushroom and Red Wine Risotto

6 thoughts on “Labor of Love Risotto

  1. That risotto recipe sounds wonderful. I have never added red wine, just white wine, and I have not tried adding blue cheese before. I love risotto and actually find it quite relaxing, standing there, sipping a little wine as I stir. It’s true comfort food. However, this recipe will have to wait for a cooler time of the year as we are sweltering at present here in New Zealand.

    • Oh my…my best friend Janine is from Australia and her poor mum was here visiting over the holidays…it was FREEZING! But she is happily back home where it’s nice and warm! Put the recipe in “your winter/our summer” collection. 😉

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

