Christiane’s spice cake

The smell of this cake reminds me of my childhood.  It also brings tears to my eyes because I miss my parents (they live in Canada).  OK, I know mushy mushy stuff is not cool, but my mom is the sweetest, nicest, little (she pretends to be 5′ but we all know she’s lying) lady you will ever meet.  Yet, cross her once and boy oh! boy get out of her way.  My dad is funny (so he thinks), generous to a fault and brilliant….but don’t mess with his grand kids!  While I am on the subject of family, I may as well tell you about my brother…my little 6′ tall brother.  He is not only funny but he makes me look like I can’t cook, keep house or take care of my kids.  He has a gorgeous and witty wife (of course!) and the most perfect awesomest 2 boys in the entire world!   Sometimes people will call me Martha and I always say: “no, that’s my brother”!   I appreciate your patience while I gloat about my family.  Did I mention my husband has the patience of a God and our 2 daughters are pure love!  OK, I’ll stop now…

The cake: Spice Cake with hot water (Pain d’epices a l’eau chaude)

Ingredients:

1/3 cup of butter (at room temperature)

1 2/3 cup of flour

1 Tsp of baking soda

1/2 tsp of salt

1 tsp of ground ginger

1 tsp of cinnamon

1 tsp of ground cloves

1/3 cup of sugar

1 egg

2/3 cup of molasses

2/3 cup of hot water

Mix together: flour, baking soda, salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves, set aside.

Mix your hot water with your molasses, set aside.

Cream your butter with your mixer until soft, add your sugar, mix well.  Next add your egg.  Gradually and alternating add your dry ingredients (1/2) then your water/molasses combo.  Last 1/2 of dry ingredients then the rest of your liquids.  DO NOT over mix, this will give you a door stopper, no one wants to eat a door stopper.  Trust me I speak from watching my dad beat this cake into submission and it wasn’t pretty!  I believe that’s the only time we had to throw away the cake.

Pour your batter into a buttered 8×8 square dish, why square?  Geez, I’m not sure but my mom always made this cake in a square dish so I make mine in one!  Use what you like, I won’t be offended and I won’t tell her.

Bake for 35-40 minutes.

Fair warning: at about 10 minutes into the cooking the smell of pure heaven and spice will fill your home!  You have been warned!

My cake:

For the sake of research and taking a decent picture, I had to cut a serving size portion and eat it (with a touch of butter).

Printer friendly: Spice Cake with hot water

Have a spicy day!

My recipe is also featured on Sweet as Sugar Cookies, here is the link: Sweet for a Saturday #1

also on: Recipes for my boys:

15 thoughts on “Christiane’s spice cake

  1. Thanks so much for linking this up with Sweets for a Saturday. I truly appreciate your support. I hope you’ll be able to join me again next Saturday. By then, I’ll have a cute button that you can grab and add to your post.

  2. Your Mom’s Spice Cake looks so Delicious! I can’t for us to cook it! Love hearing about your family! After all…That is what cooking is all about, isn’t it? ❤

    Thank you for linking this on Thursday's Treasures. I hope you will join us again each week.
    ❤ and Hugs!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

