Cream of mushroom soup

I aim to please…usually.  So when my 13-year-old daughter asked me to make her cream of mushroom soup, I knew I had to come up with something very good.  Here’s the thing, she LOVES soup.  It is always the first thing she checks out on menus and she is always the first to order soup, even in the middle of summer!  Her favorites seem to always be along the lines of cream of chicken with rice or pasta.  So a request from my first-born, I am on it!

I must tell that this soup will NOT look like the canned stuff or taste like it.  Because it has REAL mushrooms and real flavor!  It is very easy to make and healthy!

I am not a big kitchen gadget type of girl.  I don’t know why, but I have simple tools that seem to help me make pretty much anything I or my family wants.  But here is what I use for this soup:

a trusty immersion blender!

I know some of you will consider this a gadget and some might consider this basic.  Nevertheless, I use my immersion blender when I want to puree soups or sauces.  You could easily use your blender.  Making sure to cool the soup a little bit before putting in the blender and doing it in batches.  Otherwise, you will have soup all over your kitchen!  I am too lazy to get out my blender and this hand-held marvel works just right for me!

Get out your best soup pot (alas I only have one…a great white Creuset given to me by my mom…I love her)

You will need this, my trusty little friends:

2 tablespoons of butter

6 cups of sliced mushrooms (I used white button and mini bellas, but use what you have) about 2 8-ounce packages

1 leek (DON’T panic) thinly sliced using only the white and light green part, rinse off the little sandy bits

1 onion (OK, so you may also use 2 onions and skip on the leek…I told you not to panic!)

1 tablespoon of flour

1 tablespoon of each: rosemary and thyme finely chopped

4 cups of chicken broth

1/2 cup of cream

salt-N-pepa….I’m in a weird mood today🙂

In your trusty soup pot melt 2 tablespoons of butter.  Add your leeks (if using) and your onions. Let this cook for 4-5 minutes until nice and fragrant.  Here is what you’re looking at (or should be):

Add all your mushrooms and babysit the situation.  Gently stir and let this cook for 5 more minutes.  Add your fresh herbs, continue watching over your pot like it’s doing something awesome.  Salt and Pepper.  Time to add your flour (this will help thicken the soup) stir the flour with your vegetables and let it cook for 1 minute.  Add your chicken broth and bring this to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes.  This is my “situation”:

OK, now this is where the magic happens. (mmm, magic!)  Turn off the heat, grab your hand-held super tool and puree this soup until it begs for mercy!  (please help me)  Once you are done, turn the heat back on and add your cream.  Bring this to a gentle boil.  (this is not a volcano)  Turn the heat down and simmer for another 5 minutes.  Taste to make sure you don’t need more salt or pepper.  Serve!

Here is my soup:

Here is my bowl of soup:

I like to add a few croutons, it gives me a contrast of texture.  Things like that make me happy!

Peace and pepa!

Isabelle

Printer friendly: Cream of mushroom soup

5 thoughts on “Cream of mushroom soup

  1. Looks yummy. I used an immersion blender on tomato soup I made yesterday and splattered myself pretty good — needless to say, I was skirting the hairy edge of not having enough liquid to puree. Btw, you can blend hot soups, but you have to screw off the center of the top and cover the top with a folded kitchen towel. This will let out steam, so the top doesn’t blow off.

  2. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

