Peanut Butter Bread

I love cookbooks. I mean, I LOVE LOVE cookbooks. I have to limit myself when I go to the bookstore, and even to the library.  It is almost ridiculous how many cookbooks I want and have.  Space is indeed a problem, I have 3 other people and 2 big dogs living here with me so I have to share.  I do but not happily. 😉

Often people will give me cookbooks as gifts or when they just want to get ride of them.  I have never been able to part with a cookbook.  That is just impossible, poor lonely cookbook out there in the world with no one to look at it. (wow, I must stop here…I am scaring myself!)

I have some antique cookbooks and I sometimes look through them for inspiration or even to see how times have changed.  Here is one from my collection:


The way to a man’s heart: The Settlement Cookbook by Mrs. Simon Kander circa 1931

This cookbook contains a lot of interesting recipes: catnip tea, cracker gruel ( a thin porridge), pigeon en casserole (!), liver loaf….get the idea?  I really like this book and I actually have found a few recipes that I decided I should try.  First off: peanut butter bread, that sounds so good to me.  Also, and this might sound crazy, but I think I will try to make the liver loaf.  I cannot guarantee success or that my family will eat it but it’s worth a try.  Maybe I should do this when they haven’t eaten in a few days!  But today this is what I made:

Peanut Butter Bread

Here is a picture of the recipe:


No worries I will give you a printer friendly version at the end. I know, I am such a dear!

Ingredients:

2 cups of flour

4 teaspoons of baking powder

1 teaspoon of salt

1/4 cup of sugar (that’s not a lot, but OK)

2/3 cup of peanut butter

1 1/4 cup of milk (is it me or this sounds like a whole lot of milk?)

Sift flour, baking powder, salt & sugar together.  Add milk to peanut butter, blend well (geez! nothing blends with peanut butter) and add dry ingredients; beat thoroughly. The dough must be soft enough to take the shape of the pan.(shape? OK, lady!)  Bake in greased loaf pan in moderate (I do nothing moderately!) oven (350F) 45 to 50 minutes.  Best when a day old. (if this is good, this bread will not see the light of day tomorrow, I know my people!)

By the way, again is it just me or what, but there is no egg in this recipe?!  And may I just tell you that there was nothing “soft” about this batter.  I dumped it in my loaf pan and I had to get a spatula to spread it around.  I don’t know if that is what she meant by shape but I had a lot to do with the shaping!

Well look at this:


My house smells like peanut butter heaven!  This little bread is actually very tasty! Yum!

Of course it always helps when I spread a little bit of butter…. 🙂  OH! I just thought of something: jelly!  Wouldn’t that just make it fabulous?


Printer friendly version: Peanut Butter Bread

Yours truly, Mrs. “Mr. Man” (to keep with the 30’s)

Note: I have to agree with Mrs. Kander, the bread is amazing the next day!  Warmed in the microwave and topped with butter.  It is like all the flavors and ingredients had a chance to get to now each other better! 😀

13 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Bread

  1. I am a cookbook addict too although I usually end up pulling out a couple of my favorites. I love to look at pictures of food! I may try your Peanut Butter Bread but you can keep the Liver Loaf! 😦

  2. I’m going to try the peanut butter bread recipe. Looks delish!! I love cookbooks to. Bill always ask.”why do you want them if you never cook?” I do cook he just likes to rib me. I love your blog. What a clever thing to do.

  3. I am going to try this also. First, I have to figure out the Weight Watcher points for it to see if I can have just a sliver!

  4. Pingback: Rolled Beef/Mock Birds « Isabelle at home

  5. What is it about cookbooks that are so addictive? New or old they are so hard to resist. Love the old vintage ones, especially, and planning to do a blog on that soon!

  6. This recipe looks wonderful…. would love to try it but my hubby is allergic to peanuts… so guess I should wait until he is out of town… Make it and eat it before he returns ; -). I also know what you mean about cookbooks…. I love cookbooks and have lots around my house and some still in boxes. Love reading them and getting ideas. My grandmother when she was downsizing her house asked all her grandchildren what they would like to take…. me it was her cookbooks, especially the ones that she wrote in and all her hand written recipes. There still is a cookbook that my mom received from her mother that I want to get my hands on — it is a purity flour recipe book… one of these days when I go to see my dad, I will take it! The older books are great because they usually have ingredients that I have on hand.

  7. This looks absolutely delicious. Do you think it could be done with sesame seed butter or soy butter? I know it would loose the peanut butter heaven smell, but, alas, we have peanut allergies in the family….

    Love your blog. Very creative.

    I am a cookbook coveter, as well. I can totally relate. Every time a child leaves home, I come around to thinking “well, more space for my cookbooks.” 🙂

    Have a wonderful day. Thanks for the recipe!

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

