Shepherd’s pie (lost in translation)

I love my Shepherd’s pie,  I love my mom….but I didn’t like my mom’s Shepherd’s pie.  I am a good daughter.  My parents will tell you so.  But have no fear my mom now makes MY Shepherd’s pie recipe, all is good in the world again!

Funny thing about growing up in Quebec and now living in Indiana; translations.  Here’s an example; Shepherd’s pie in French Quebec is called: Pate Chinois….translation please: Chinese Pate!  No, really!  How confusing is that?  Could someone please explain to me how an Irish/English dish named Shepherd’s pie (named accurately) is then translated to Chinese Pate.  And my husband wonders why I always have a confused look on my face!

After all is said and done, I love my Chinese Shepherd’s pie 😉 I am just kidding, let’s call it “Lost in Translation Pie”…still kidding!

Heat oven at 375F

What you will need:

1 pound of ground beef

1/2 onion chopped

8-ounce of mushrooms chopped

1 packet/envelop of mushroom gravy mix (0.75-ounce)

1/2 cup of red wine

3/4 cup of beef broth or water

2 1/2 cups of frozen peas thawed

Mashed Potatoes (I make mine with 6 medium size potatoes, 4 tbsp of butter, 1/2 cup sour cream, 1/2 cup milk)

1/4 cup of Parmesan cheese

First heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pan then add your chopped onions.  Cook until soft and lightly brown.  Add your ground beef, break up the large pieces and saute until meat is cooked.  Add your mushrooms and cook for another 3-4 minutes. (I do not like my mushrooms mushy, if you do then go ahead and cook them until so)  Sprinkle your gravy mix over your meat “mixture” and mix well.  Let this cook for no more than 1 minute then add your wine and broth (or water).  Salt and pepper. Let this simmer for a few minutes until it thickens.

Transfer your meat to a casserole dish (3 quart dish).  Sprinkle your peas evenly over the meat.  Spoon your mashed potatoes and gently spread to cover everything.  Fresh ground pepper and finish with your Parmesan cheese.  Bake for 20-30 minutes until heated trough and lightly browned.

Here is a “not so good” picture of the whole deal.

Here is a picture of a serving (taken by my lovely 13-year-old daughter!)

Sadly picture-taking does not do this cozy comforting meal justice.  It is not only easy but affordable.  Also a great way to use your left over mashed potatoes.

Give it a try, let me know what you think.  Don’t forget if you open that bottle of wine for 1/2 cup, someone has to have a glass or two.  Just saying!

Printer friendly version: Shepherd’s Pie

7 thoughts on “Shepherd’s pie (lost in translation)

  1. Sounds really really good but can I put corn instead of peas so my family isn’t too confused ??? And I love your writing … I’ll try the banana bread this afternoon, froze my bananas 😉

  2. Pingback: Shepherd’s Pie | Food Frenzy

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

