A little twist on spaghetti

Happy Spaghetti

Happy Linguini

I make spaghetti at least once a week.  I am always amazed how everyone seems to like it and never gets tired of it.  But it is nice to have a new approach to the same old thing.  Here is my version of a recipe I found in Food & Wine Magazine. (link will be available below)

Saw this great recipe and thought it sounded delicious.  I actually did the recipe exactly the way they had it in the magazine but I have to be honest, it just wasn’t exactly what I was looking for.  So here is my version, it is pretty healthy, low-fat and plenty of veggies.  I call them Happy Linguine, they’re happy because of the wine!  Please note, that although I don’t think you should – you can easily “hide” vegetables in the sauce. (puree them!) I do not advocate this, EAT your vegetables!

Happy Linguine

1 to 1.5  lb of turkey sausage (hot or sweet)

1 1/3 cup of dry white wine

4-5 cloves of garlic finely chopped

1 tablespoon of  ground fennel (I had fennel seeds and I crushed them best I could)

1 teaspoon of crushed red pepper

fresh ground pepper

2 tablespoon of olive oil

1 onion finely chopped

1 large carrot finely chopped

1 celery finely chopped

1 14-ounce can of crushed tomatoes

1 14-ounce can of small diced tomatoes * do not drain

1 lb of linguine (or any long pasta you like)

Parmesan cheese

First you must “marinate” your sausage. Remove the casings from the sausages and put in a bowl, add your garlic, 1/3 cup of wine, fennel, black pepper and crushed red pepper. Cover and refrigerate at least 4-5 hours. (overnight is fine)

In a large skillet, heat olive oil.  Add sausage mixture and cook over high heat, until lightly brown (no pink showing).  Add your carrots, onions and celery, stirring frequently, let this cook for 4-5 minutes.  Add remaining 1 cup of wine, let this reduce by half.  Add crushed tomatoes and diced tomatoes (with their juices) and salt & pepper.  Let this cook down for at least 30 minutes.

Serve over your cooked linguine (you want to keep 1/2 cup of your cooking liquid, in the event your sauce gets too thick)

Top with Parmesan cheese, side of fresh bread.

Happy Spaghetti

Very Happy Linguini🙂


Note: you can also buy turkey sausage in bulk without casing and you could use pork sausage.

Adapted from: Food and Wine Magazine

Here is the printer friendly version: Happy Linguine

13 thoughts on “A little twist on spaghetti

  1. Isabelle….si J’étais proche j’irai manger un spag avec toi…..ça semble délicieux…Bonne chance avec ton blog amicalement, Marie-Claude xox

  2. I’ve never “marinated” sausage before adding it to spaghetti. I am looking really forward to playing around with your recipe as we too tend to have spaghetti once a week.

    I always make extra for my almost 5 yr old who is a very picky eater as she will generally always eat a plate of spaghetti.

    Hiding vegetables in sauces by grating or pureeing them does not give you the benefits that eating them raw or steamed does but it can help develop picky eaters palates while meeting their daily serving requirements.

    Pureeing and then cooking vegetables is also be the only way people with conditions like gastroparesis(often caused by diabetes) are able to easily digest vegetable fiber.

    I do not cook with alcohol because I’ve never liked the flavor it adds to foods. I have tried many recipes with different types and I’ve always wished I had left it out or substituted it with something else. Here are some common substitutions for white wine for those who like me don’t use it for whatever reason.

    Non-alcoholic wine, chicken broth or stock, diluted white wine vinegar or cider vinegar, white grape juice diluted with white wine vinegar, ginger ale, canned mushroom liquid, water. For marinades, substitute 1/4 cup vinegar plus 1 Tbsp sugar plus 1/4 cup water.

  3. This looks freakin’ amazing! Even without the sausage. It IS still hot out. Boyfriend will be so angry. He’s been home for ten days and all I’ve cooked for him is hard-boiled eggs. He leaves today and I’m making this tonight.

    Thanks, Isabelle.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

