Good old banana bread!

My family loves banana bread.  In fact every time my parents visit, I noticed that my dad expects to have a banana bread ready upon his arrival.  I have only one trick for my bread: old frozen bananas.  Not old like rotten but old like they have been overlooked and no one wants to eat them.  Don’t trow them away (although you could trow them in your compost….but that’s another post) put them in your freezer.  I have 8 in there as we speak/read.  I keep a plastic bag filled with “unwanted” bananas.  When the time is right, usually when I want my house to smell perfect, or when my parents visit, time to pull out 4 frozen bananas and make your bread!  They won’t be pretty but it makes a big difference in the bread.  Maybe the bananas are just happy to get a second chance! (wow, I do think too much about food….weird)

Here are my 4 friends thawing:

Here is the plan: Oven at 350F. Grease your favorite loaf pan (glass, ceramic, metal).

Mix together your dry ingredients:

1 3/4 cup of flour (organic if you want)

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/8 teaspoon cinnamon (or a good pinch)

Set aside

Next, in a large bowl (or in your mixer) mix together:

2/3 cup of sugar

5 tablespoons of butter at room temperature (yes the real stuff, you could use something else, it’s your bread!)

Then add:

2 eggs

1 tablespoon of milk

4 thawed bananas (see above) I usually just snip the top of the banana and squeeze it into the bowl (real technical stuff!)

Next you want to add your dry ingredients to the banana madness, just mix until well incorporated.  Pour into your greased pan, in the oven for 1 hour.

Here is what the glorious bread will look like:

 

Yummy Banana Bread!


***This bread doesn’t last very long at our house, but if you have the chance, I would highly recommend that you toast a slice, spread with butter and have it for breakfast.  It is ridiculously perfect!  A good cup of coffee would make a nice companion!

Here is the printer friendly version: Belle Banana Bread

Peace and Frozen,

Isabelle

9 thoughts on “Good old banana bread!

  1. Pingback: Gym Etiquette and Reese’s Peanut Butter Bread « Isabelle at home

  2. Pingback: Gym Etiquette and Reese’s Peanut Butter Bread | LIVING WELL Magazine

  3. Pingback: Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter Rolo Thumbprint Cookies « Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: Sweet & Salty Peanut Butter Rolo Thumbprint Cookies | LIVING WELL Magazine

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

