Dreaming of a pizza

This is odd, I am not a big pizza lover.  I do like it when it’s the artisanal/rustic type but I won’t go out of my way to get it.  Matt (yep Mr. Man himself) now he’s a pizza fanatic.  Loves the stuff, wants me to make it whenever I can.  It is always the first thing that comes out of his mouth when I am unsure about what to cook for dinner.

Here is the bizarre part, I had a dream about a pizza I ate about 2 years ago, could even be 3!  My friend Chris (and her husband Shawn) invited us over for dinner and she had this delicious pizza she served as an appetizer.  It was so different and so good.  Evidently I never got over it.  I did ask where she found the recipe, I looked it up, printed it and in all my smartitude (whatever) I lost it!

But have no fear, I remember it, my dream told me so: gorgonzola , roasted onions, walnuts and red grapes.  I know for some of you this may sound like such a weird combination but it is delicious.  The tartness of the cheese, the sweetness of the onions and the fresh crunch of the grapes, man, it worked!

I decided I had to have it.  I didn’t want my dream to turn into a nightmare.  I am very careful about stuff like that.  I do value my sleep very much.

Dreamy pizza:

1 container of store-bought pizza (I used the thin crust 11oz or make your own which I do sometime)

1/2 cup of cream cheese (let this come to room temperature, much easier to “handle”)

1/2 cup of gorgonzola cheese

Salt & Pepper

1 cup of seedless red grapes

2 onions thinly sliced

1/2 cup of toasted walnuts roughly chopped

First you must roast your onions.  Simply put 1 tbsp of olive oil in a pan and let them sweat it out for about 15 minutes until golden and soft.  Should look a little something like this:

slowly cooked and full of flavor

Next cook your pizza dough, I like to let it sit at room temperature for a few minutes prior to putting it in the oven.  This helps if it “springs” back on you.  You can then easily stretch it out again. I always put fresh ground pepper and drizzle olive oil. I have also put some dried herbs but not in this case, I didn’t want to mess with the flavors.  I cooked mine at 410F for about 10 minutes. Keep an eye on it, you don’t want burnt pizza!

exciting pizza dough! 🙂

While your pizza is cooking, time to mix your gorgonzola and cream cheese, add some salt & pepper, done!  It will be pretty thick but we’ll fix that once it hits that hot pizza!  Put your cheese mixture in “blobs” all around the pizza, let it sit for 30 seconds and it will start to soften, then you can spread it around.  Put this back in the oven for about 1-2 minutes to melt the cheeses.  Now time to add the sweet roasted delicious onions, scatter them around, nothing needs to be perfect, just let it go!  Then you put the toasted walnuts.  I should point out that to toast your walnuts simply put them in a pan on medium heat constantly watching and moving them around for about 5-10 minutes.  Don’t leave them alone, burnt walnuts tasted awful!  And the finishing touch: grapes, again just scatter evenly around your pizza.

Serve!

Time to dig in!

Isn’t it pretty?  I think I could have eaten the whole thing.  But I shared…I’m nice like that! 😉

Here is the printer friendly version: Dreamy Pizza

Note:  I made this the other night, 4 of us shared it, but for the sake of research I just made half of one…I didn’t share.

Peace and Dreams,

Isabelle

Note: find my pizza on here as well:

Sunday Supper

6 thoughts on “Dreaming of a pizza

  1. OMG!! I bet this is about as good as the blue cheese/walnut/grape appetizers you made last year for your purse/jewelry/pampered chef party. Now I dream of those 🙂

    I am going to have to try this for Jacob’s birthday…he will love it. He has already started a menu…

  2. This sounds wonderful! I like this combo as a salad but an appetizer pizza is a great idea too. I love the blog and look forward to it. I wish I had time to cook as often as you!

  3. Pingback: Road trip: Chicago! « Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

