THE cornbread that started it all…

Cornbread

I would love to tell you this is a complicated recipe, but I have to be honest, it is very simple. A few years back….way back, I went to a small local restaurant and they served a delicious cornbread…I fell in love! I asked for the recipe, well the chef was nice enough to give me “a” recipe…which would have fed a small army. OK, I can do this, so I worked on it and the final result was, if I say so myself, pretty darn good.

Here is the recipe:
Cream:
6oz of butter (yes real butter)
1 cup white sugar
Add & Beat:
4 eggs (medium to large is fine)
1 small jar of green chilies not drained (optional)
1 8.5oz canned corn drained
1 15oz canned cream of corn
1 cup shredded cheese
Mix separately:
1 cup flour
1 cup corn meal
2 tsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt

Add dry ingredients to wet and beat until just blended. Pour into a greased 8×10 pan, bake at 350F for 1 hr or until golden brown.

Enjoy!

Here is a printer friendly version of my recipe: Isabelle’s corn bread

8 thoughts on “THE cornbread that started it all…

  1. Isabelle, I’m so impressed with your blog – didn’t know it was in the making. I always wonder where you find the “spare time” to do all you do. Thanks for the cornbread recipe – will try it very soon.
    Congratulations on your publishing debut.
    Cynny

  2. Pingback: Blackberry Corn Cake « Isabelle at home

  3. Pingback: 5 Minute CornBread « Isabelle at home

  4. Pingback: Aunt Rhonda’s Coffee Cake « Isabelle at home

  5. YUM YUM! My husband saw this & now I absolutely HAVE to make this…he loves cornbread šŸ™‚ I’m super excited to try it. Thanks Isabelle for another wonderful mouth watering recipe. It will be perfect with chili stew.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

