Sloppy Joes


OK, confession: I never had a Sloppy Joe until last night, ridiculous right?   Where have I been?   It seems everyone else in my family has had a chance to taste them but moi!  Now I hate to sound so “foodie” but I wasn’t about to have my first with the canned stuff so I decided to research it and go for the gold, sort of speak.
Here is what turned up (after much rummaging through my “for later” recipe folder).
Gourmet circa 2004: Turkey Sloppy Joes on cheddar buttermilk biscuits.
****I did tweak it a bit but that’s just how it goes.
Here is the link:  Turkey-Sloppy-Joes-on-Cheddar-Buttermilk-Biscuits-230464

I have to admit, I don’t always use the Cheddar Buttermilk Biscuits…I like to live on the edge so I often will pop open a can of store bought biscuits….I know how tacky 😉

Ingredients:

3 tablespoons olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

2 celery ribs, chopped

1 red bell pepper, chopped

4 garlic cloves, finely chopped

2 1/2 lb ground turkey (not labeled “all breast meat”)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1 (28- to 32-oz) can whole tomatoes in juice

1/2 cup ketchup

2 tablespoons molasses (not blackstrap)

2 tablespoons cider vinegar

1 1/2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce

1 1/4 teaspoons Tabasco, or to taste

How to:

Heat oil in a wide 8-quart heavy pot (or Dutch Oven) over moderately high heat until hot but not smoking, then sauté onion, celery, bell pepper, and garlic, stirring occasionally, until golden, 10 to 12 minutes.  Add turkey and sauté, stirring occasionally and breaking up large lumps with a wooden spoon, until meat is no longer pink, about 5 minutes.  Stir in salt and pepper.

Purée tomatoes with juice, ketchup, molasses, vinegar, Worcestershire sauce, and Tabasco in a blender until smooth.  Add to turkey and simmer, uncovered, stirring occasionally, until sauce is thickened, 25 to 30 minutes.

Serve turkey sloppy joes on split Cheddar buttermilk biscuits. (or your favorite or your store’s favorite….whatever you like!)

It was quite delicious and I received a “do this again” from the family!  The tweaking was no peppers (didn’t have any) and I cut everything by half because I only had 1.25lbs of turkey.
On a side note: I know my picture taking is less than perfect, I promise I will sharpen my skills and learn proper technique (soon).

Printer friendly: Turkey Sloppy Joes on Buttermilk Biscuits

Peace and be Sloppy when needed,

Isabelle

3 thoughts on “Sloppy Joes

  1. Okay, I saw this and thought I’d ask you for a plain biscuit recipe. I don’t know if you know this or not, but my son has food allergies. I have to use special flour to make his food (which turns out quite nasty and flat). Anyhow, since I make things and freeze them for him, I thought I’d do the same and use regular all purpose flour for the rest of us (cause his tastes nasty–and I’m as picky as Laura, so that flour isn’t going down). I found a recipe online, and Carson doesn’t seem to mind. However, the rest of us found our biscuits to be very plain. Cameron put it nicely by saying it was only good with jelly. Do you have a recipe for a plain biscuit? We’re used to the canned Pilsbury, and those are yummy. 🙂

    • Yes I have a great one (no cheese) and very good. I will send it to you. Food allergies are difficult but not impossible. I have to also tell you that 2 or 3 people told me that they used plain biscuits instead of cheese and it was still delicious and healthy! I think the “sloppy” part is what makes it so good!

  2. These sound delicious, Isabelle! My oldest daughter absolutely loves sloppy joes….but only out of the can. The problem is…they no longer sell her favorite brand in MN, you can only get it online (in fact, my other daughter actually ordered her a case of the mix for her birthday and she was ecstatic!). Anyways, I keep thinking that I need to try and duplicate that brand and yours sounds like it has a lot of the same flavors, so I think I need to play around with it! 🙂

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

