Pasta with Raw Tomato Sauce and Homemade Ricotta

Homemade Ricotta and Raw Tomato Sauce

Pasta with Raw Tomato Sauce and Homemade Ricotta

When I started typing this I was actually sitting at school subbing on the very last day of school.  Some people might call me crazy but I am happy to be here.  While the kids finished up their finals and turned in every books that weight down their famous backpack, I was reading “Delancey” by Molly Wizenberg.  Molly also wrote: “A Homemade Life “.  Both books are absolutely fantastic.  I couldn’t do her justice if I tried to explain how wonderful a writer she is.  I re-read a Homemade Life often.  It just makes me happy.  I will probably do the same with Delancey.

Back to being at school….it’s interesting to me that even when I get home totally exhausted from a day with kids I can’t wait to go back for more.  It is the strangest feeling.  I feel grounded when I am here with them.  I feel at home, which is odd for me, being a homebody is one of my proudest self-descriptions.  But here in these walls (different walls for different schools!) I feel OK, I am not wanting to run screaming for “my” home!  I can dream of food I want to make, plans for our home I have, write my never-ending to-do list, and so on….it’s good place for me.

On that day, I had a vision of pasta, it is a reoccurring vision.  Molly talks about Homemade Ricotta in her book and although I have never made it, I decided I should.  Simple as that, I should try to make ricotta.  What could possibly be better than Raw Tomato Sauce with delicious pasta and soon to be homemade ricotta?  Nothing.  Simple as that.

doesn't that look so delicious?

doesn’t that look so delicious?

Let’s start with the ricotta.  I followed Molly’s recipe, she found it here: Look I made that

Homemade Ricotta:

Ingredients:

6 1/2 cups whole milk

1 1/2 cups heavy cream

2 cups cultured buttermilk

1 tablespoon salt

How to:

Combine everything in a large pot and cook over medium heat. When the mixture forms curds and the whey separates and becomes clear, turn off heat. Let it for 30 minutes for the curds to strengthen.

the start....seems like nothing but...

the start….seems like nothing but…

magical things are happening

magical things are happening

Set a strainer over a container and line with 2 layers of cheesecloth. Pour ricotta onto cheesecloth and let strain until a desired consistency is reached.

very high tech set up here!

very high tech set up here!

and just like that....

and just like that….

you have ricotta!

you have ricotta!

Stir in salt.

Raw Tomato Sauce:

Ingredients:

2 pounds ripe plum tomatoes, finely chopped (keep all the juices)

1/4 cup fresh basil leaves, roughly chopped (plus more for serving)

2 garlic cloves, finely chopped

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil, plus more for drizzling

Coarse salt and freshly ground pepper

1 pound spaghetti (I had whole grain pasta today)

Olive Oil, for serving

How to:

*Possibly the easiest sauce ever….

<3

<3

In a large bowl combine your chopped tomatoes with the juices, basil, garlic, olive oil, salt and pepper (approx 1 teaspoon each).  Toss well, set aside.

my sauce: a no-brainer

my sauce: a no-brainer

Cook your pasta al dente, keeping 1/2 cup of cooking water.

Serving:  Toss your cooked hot pasta with your Raw Tomato Sauce, put into your serving platter and add dollops of your delicious ricotta, drizzle with olive oil, and more fresh basil.  I like to serve this with more ricotta in a side dish for the gluttons (like me…) who need to add ricotta to every single bite!

this pasta is ready to meet the ricotta (what?)

this pasta is ready to meet the ricotta (what?)

PERFECTION!

PERFECTION!

Note: if needed add a bit of your pasta cooking water when tossing pasta with the sauce.  It will give it a bit more body, if your tomatoes happened to not be very juicy.

Another Note: some people call raw tomato sauce: fresh tomato sauce, either way it’s the same thing.  Bottom line you are not using any heat and/or cooking this sauce.

it's all mine!

it’s all mine!

Printer Friendly Homemade Ricotta:  Homemade Ricotta

Printed Friendly Raw Tomato Sauce: Raw Tomato Sauce

Other delicious ricotta recipes:

Ricotta Chocolate Chips Ice Cream

Delicious Ice Cream

Delicious Ice Cream

Rolled Eggplant with Sausage and Mozzarella

 

I need to make this ASAP

I need to make this ASAP

Easy Cannoli

 

So Easy and So Yummy!

So Easy and So Yummy!

Peace and Simple,

Isabelle

 

7 thoughts on “Pasta with Raw Tomato Sauce and Homemade Ricotta

  1. Your technique for ricotta is different from the one I use. I may have to try this method and compare. Thanks for sharing. This would make a great Meatless Monday meal!
    BTW… that ice cream is crazy dangerous I bet!

  2. THe buttermilk is the culture that starts the cheese process I am guessing since it is similiar to making homemade yogurt,, soo my question would be can you substiture Plain yogurt for the buttermilk?

    • Richard, from what I read yes you can use yogurt. I have never tried it myself but it seems it would work. Also many recipe talk about using the whey from making greek yogurt along with the milk. Again I have not tried either option as this was my very first (and exciting) time making ricotta! But do let me know if you try with the yogurt and what the outcome was. Thanks for reading :)

  3. I love everything about this post! I’ve added “A Homemade Life” to my reading list and I want to just sit in my kitchen all day (if only I could!)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

