Sauteed Rainbow Chard

Sauteed Rainbow Chard

Sauteed Rainbow Chard

We decided this year to expand our “greens” in our garden to not only kale and swiss chard but also rainbow chard.  It is quite a miracle that I am able to grow anything at all but the fact that my greens did so well last year made me think I could do more….which is usually where I crash and fail…but so far so good.

I GREW THAT!!!!! So pretty!

I GREW THAT!!!!! So pretty!

This is not so much a recipe per say but more of a guideline.  I make this “recipe/formula” pretty much the same way for kale, collard greens, Swiss chard, beet tops, rainbow chard, spinach…etc…

Got to love a recipe that can adapt to many different main ingredients!

Got to love a recipe that can adapt to many different main ingredients!

Ingredients:

Large bunch of rainbow chard (I had about 15 stems)

1 onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup dry white wine (substitute with vegetable broth if needed)

1/2 lemon juice

2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar

salt and pepper to taste

How to:

Separate the stems of the chard from the leaves.  Cut the leaves into bite size pieces and set aside.  Slice the stems into small pieces and set aside.

big ol' bowl of chopped chard

big ol’ bowl of chopped chard

In a large pan heat 1 tablespoon olive oil.  Add your chopped onion and saute until soft and fragrant.  Add your chopped stems.  Cook on medium heat until soft, about 5-8 minutes.

Look at those gorgeous colors!

Look at those gorgeous colors!

Start adding your chopped leaves, a few big handful at a time, stirring gently after each addition.  It will seem like a mountain of leaves but it will cook down greatly.  Keep adding your leaves until they are all in.

a whole lot of chopped chard

a big mountain of chopped chard

gently stir or you will have chard all over your stove top!

gently stir or you will have chard all over your stove top!

Add your garlic, white wine and lemon juice.  Cook gently until your chard has wilted nicely.  Add your salt and pepper to taste, about 1 teaspoon each.  Finally turn heat off and add your apple cider vinegar, toss everything to combine and serve.

all cooked down and ready to go!

all cooked down and ready to go!

smells so amazing! I am ready to dig in!

smells so amazing! I am ready to dig in!

So easy, healthy and fresh!  I love this side with grilled chicken or baked fish, even a nice steak!  Really it goes with everything, and my kids love it!

Enjoy!  <3

Enjoy! <3

Printer Friendly: Sauteed Rainbow Chard

Peace and Grow,

Isabelle

6 thoughts on “Sauteed Rainbow Chard

  1. I really need to eat more veges! I love fresh food from the garden! I wish I could have talked my husband into doing one this year. I think I’m going to start making plans for a raised garden next year.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

