Country Pate (Pate de Campagne)

Pate de Campagne/Country Pate

Pate de Campagne/Country Pate

Maybe I should have not stated that this posted is about Pate.  I know quite a few readers who just can’t bring themselves to eat or least of all make pate.  I, on the other hand, could eat it 24/7 365 days a year.  I love this stuff, any kind, all kinds, it doesn’t matter!  I am a pate nut! ;)  That didn’t sound quite right!

When I go visit my parents in Montreal I always run to the grocery store and buy at least 2 or 3 to eat for breakfast or afternoon snack…. so delicious with a lovely baguette or rustic bread.  HEAVEN or at least what I would like my heaven to be!

I made this pate for my annual foodie dinner party in Chicago.  A dinner party I am not quite sure how I managed to sneak my way into but a fun and delicious party none the less!  Janine requested pate for one of the appetizers.  She also requested my tumbleweeds.  I realize tumbleweeds and pate is odd but no worries we shall not eat them together!  ;)

plenty to go around! So delicious!

plenty to go around! So delicious!

Here is where I found the base for my Country Pate.  I changed a few things (noted after my recipe).

Ingredients:

2 1/4 pounds ground pork

1/2 onion finely chopped

1/2 cup Italian parsley chopped

3 garlic cloves, crushed and finely chopped

2 tablespoons kosher salt

2 teaspoons black pepper

1/4 teaspoon ground cloves

1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg

1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

1/4 teaspoon ground coriander

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

2 large eggs

2 tablespoons brandy

1/2 cup heavy cream

How to:

Heat oven to 300 degrees.  Line a terrine mold or loaf pan (good old banana bread pan!) with plastic wrap (if you wet the pan first it will help the wrap stick to the sides).  Set aside.

plastic lining is extremely important!

plastic lining is extremely important!

Put about one-third of the ground pork, the onion, parsley, garlic, salt, pepper and spices into the bowl of a food processor and pulse until the meat and spices are well mixed.  Return to bowl with rest of pork and mix together well with wooden spoon or hands. (World’s best kitchen tool!)

In a small bowl, combine flour, egg, brandy and cream and whisk to blend well. Add to meat mixture and mix until incorporated. (Mixture may look rather thin. Despair not: It will set up firmly when cooked.)

Fill your prepared mold with pate mixture, pressing down firmly to remove air pockets.  Fold plastic wrap over top to enclose.  Cover tightly with foil.  Place terrine mold in a roasting pan, add enough hot tap water to come about half-way up sides of mold, and place in oven.  Roast for about 2 hours, until internal temperature reaches 150 degrees.

all in....please ignore the fact that I am taking pics in the snow!

all in….please ignore the fact that I am taking pics in the snow!

all wrapped up

all wrapped up

bad pic but you get the idea

bad pic but you get the idea

Remove terrine from oven and place about two pounds of weight, such as several full cans of vegetables or other canned foods, on top of another loaf pan on top of pate, to weight down and compact the pate.  Refrigerate overnight.  Bring to room temperature before lifting out of mold, unwrapping plastic and slicing to serve.  This makes a large loaf, I like to slice it and wrap individual servings in plastic wrap using them as needed or giving some as gifts.

you will need more than just those two little cans of tune....if you know what I mean!

you will need more than just those two little cans of tune….if you know what I mean!

Note: the original recipe called for veal or pork liver, I couldn’t find it so I added a bit more ground pork.  Also they made a spice mixture and only used part of it.  Reality was that I was probably not going to make this pate soon which meant that the spice mixture would sit in my pantry for lord knows how long (wasteful!) so I tweaked the spices to my liking!  I prefer Italian parsley.

filled with amazing spice flavors, such a great appetizer!

filled with amazing spices and flavors, such a great appetizer!

Printer Friendly: Country Pate

Peace and Be Fearless Eat Pate,

Isabelle

my Chicago offering!

my Chicago offering!

5 thoughts on “Country Pate (Pate de Campagne)

  1. Did you REALLY bake this pate with the plastic wrap ??? I would make the recipe but could not bake in plastic because of safety concerns of the chemicals released.

    • I understand Lois, but this is the technique I have found everywhere. Chefs use this technique as well. I have never had any problems or concerns. Let me know how it turns out without the plastic wrap. :)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

