Baked Pasta Cordon Bleu

Baked Pasta Cordon Bleu

Baked Pasta Cordon Bleu

My husband requested this.  I am so nice I even found a way to lighten it up a little.  A little, let’s not go crazy.  I mean, it’s still filled with cheese and noodles and cheese!  But overall I think I did pretty good…until he said to me: “thanks for making this for me, I know it’s not your usual gourmet fancy food you like to make”….what?  Geez…thanks!  Nothing I love better than being called out when I am being nice to someone!  (Note to self: husband needs a time out!)

I like that you can make this dish ahead of time and simply heat it when you are ready.  This is also a great simple dish to give a friend who needs a hug.  It is tasty, feeds about 6-8 and leftovers are delish.

Let's dig in!

Let’s dig in!

Ingredients:

1 lb. pasta (any kind you like: penne, farfalle, mostaccioli….I had cavatappi)

1 lb cooked chicken cubed (I had 1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast that I cubed and gently sautéed)

1 lb cooked ham, cubed (preferably not sliced ham)

8 ounce light cream cheese

1 onion finely chopped

1/2 cup dry white wine

1/2 cup low-fat milk

1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

Splash hot sauce

1/2 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce

salt & pepper to taste

2 cups shredded Swiss cheese

2 tablespoons butter

1 cup Panko breadcrumbs

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray a 8X11 baking dish.  Set aside.

Boil your pasta Al Dente (you don’t want mushy pasta because it will continue to cook when baking and mushy is just not tasty!)  Drain pasta and put in your prepared dish.  Set aside.

In a large pan, add 1-2 tablespoons olive oil.  Add your onion and cook until soft and fragrant.  Add your wine, and let cook for a minute or so.  Add your milk, chicken broth and cream cheese (I like to put it in chunks, not the whole brick)  bring this to a simmer and let cook until all melted and combined.  Add your hot sauce, worcestershire sauce, salt and pepper.

Add your cubed chicken and ham to your pasta.  Toss to combine.  Pour your sauce and shredded cheese over the mixture and using 2 large spoons gently combine everything.  You will have to be careful otherwise things will go flying everywhere.  Yeah yeah…I speak from experience!

Step one

Step one

Step two (gentle touch!)

Step two (gentle touch!)

In a medium pan melt your 2 tablespoons of butter.  Turn off the heat and add your Panko crumbs.  Gently stir until well blended.  Sprinkle over your pasta mixture.  Put in your preheated oven for 20-30 until nice and bubbly.  You may want to turn on your broiler at the end for a couple of minutes if you like a golden top but be careful and keep an eye because things will go crazy quite fast!

and then the panko, finally ready for the oven

and then the Panko, finally ready for the oven

fresh out of the oven, smells delicious

fresh out of the oven, smells delicious

Delicious!

Leftovers are also amazing and plentiful!

Leftovers are also amazing and plentiful!

We had a debate on chunks sizes in our home.  I like to keep the chicken and ham pieces quite big.  I want to know what I am eating.  My husband, on the other hand, wants smaller pieces.  You decide what you like.  As long as I am making it: big pieces it is :)

Printer Friendly: Baked Pasta Cordon Bleu

Peace and Fancy,

Isabelle

8 thoughts on “Baked Pasta Cordon Bleu

  1. Isabelle, I wish I’d had your recipe when I visited my folks earlier this month. Was thinking Cordon Bleu (Mom had chicken & ham in the fridge) but I couldn’t find a recipe that didn’t sound like glorified macaroni & cheese. :) Also, I beg to differ with Mr. Man on what constitutes “gourmet”… your latest creation is classy, elegant, and pairs well with a glass of wine. (With ice, tee hee.) Just because it’s a one-dish meal doesn’t mean it’s exempt from gourmet status! Thanks for your creativity in the kitchen, as always!

  2. I made this for dinner last night, and I thought it was delicious but a little dry. I was looking for creamy mac and cheese consistency. So I made another sauce but used goat cheese as that’s all I had on hand and added it to my leftovers. Beautiful! I will make this again but just increase the amount of sauce to be added.

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

