Shaved Asparagus Salad

Shaved Asparagus Salad

Shaved Asparagus Salad

I have a new obsession and by obsession I mean: all out crazy dreams and daily “going back for more” kind of obsession.

It’s a new cookbook….what did you think it was?…geez….

So this AMAZING and I mean AMAAAAAAAZING cookbook  Carnivore is from the beautiful brain of Michael Simon.

simply delicious!

simply delicious!

You may ask why am I sharing a Shaved Asparagus Salad when I am raving about a carnivore’s cookbook?  Who knows?  I never do anything the way it’s intended…I roll to the beat of my own drum…I color outside the lines…and on and on….

I showed this cookbook to Janine, she also fell in love.  She had me text the info to Dan: “this would make a wonderful Christmas gift for your wife”.  (yes, we are little tricksters like that!)  Matt bought me the book for Christmas as well.  I finally had to return the library’s copy (after I got mine of course).

So far I have made 4 recipes from this book.  ALL were amazing.  That’s pretty good if you think about it.  Usually somehow, somewhere you get disappointed but not here!

I have made: The Fat Doug Burger: a burger with 3 kinds of ground beef: sirloin, brisket and boneless short ribs.  Probably the best burger I have ever had!  Also, Braised Chicken Thighs with Spicy Kale: delicious…perfect…perfectly delicious.  Pork Pie: brought me back to my childhood’s Meat Pies…simply scrumptious!  And finally this gorgeous Shaved Asparagus Salad.  Honestly, this is one amazing cookbook and I cannot wait to try more and more recipes!

amazing flavor combination, fresh, a little crunch, just enough tartness...oh my....

amazing flavor combination, fresh, a little crunch, just enough tartness…oh my….

Ingredients:

1 large bunch thick green  asparagus (about 2 lbs) trimmed

1 (1.5-ounces) block Pecorino Romano Cheese (I only had Parmesan)

Kosher Salt

Grated zest and juice of 1 orange, plus 2 oranges, segmented (here is a great how to: how to segment citrus )

1 1/2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives

2 teaspoon white wine vinegar

1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil

2 tablespoons coarsely chopped hazelnuts, toasted

How to:

Shave the asparagus with a vegetable peeler to create long ribbons.  Do the same with the Pecorino Romano cheese (or parmesan in my case) to create shavings.  In a large non-reactive bowl, toss together the asparagus, cheese and a large pinch of salt.

In a small bowl, whisk together the orange zest and juice, the chives and vinegar.  Whisk in the olive oil.  Pour the dressing over the asparagus and let sit until the asparagus is slightly wilted, about 5 minutes.

Toss in the hazelnuts and orange segments and serve.

this is a very photogenic salad... ;)

this is a very photogenic salad… ;)

Note: shaving 2 lbs of asparagus is not for the faint of heart but trust me it is so worth it.  Also you may need to adjust the seasonings after you add your hazelnuts and oranges.  I added a touch of fresh ground pepper and a pinch more kosher salt.

it's a tough job but someone had to do it!

it’s a tough job but someone had to do it!

Another note: I actually cut this recipe in half since I was home alone and I only had 1 lb of asparagus.  It was super easy to do….it was so delicious, I ate it all….yes…all of it…by myself…and I have no regrets!

yes...I ate all that!  I might have even licked the plate!

yes…I ate all that! I might have even licked the plate!

Printer friendly:  Shaved Asparagus Salad

Peace and Obsession,

Isabelle

go check out this lovely linky party as well:

5 thoughts on “Shaved Asparagus Salad

  1. Isabelle, that’s one beautiful salad (and salad maker!) YOU, not Michael Symon — although he is adorable and I love his laugh. ;) The other recipes you tried sounded wonderful, too — lead the way, oh obsessed one!!! xo

  2. Pingback: Shaved Asparagus Salad by Isabelle at Home | South Louisiana Recipes

  3. I love asparagus… but hubby doesn’t :(… But maybe he would like this as I am going to be preparing it soon :) and with it shaved, he might not know what it is. Thanks for sharing on Foodie Friends Friday and remember to come back and vote on Sunday.

  4. Pingback: http://www.foodiefriendsfriday.com/2013/01/foodie-friends-friday-january-10th.html « CJ'S Loving Food Tour

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

