Mellark’s Secret Banana Bread

Mellark's Secret Banana Bread

Mellark’s Secret Banana Bread

If you remember (or maybe you are new to my world!) I have a weird “thing” about not reading books that are recommended to me.  Especially if the book is a best seller.  This leads me to The Hunger Games Books (the trilogy) I fought it and fought it…so much so that my 13 year old daughter started to call me names (you know…names like: mom, mommy, ma, momster…) eventually I did give in and read the books.  They are fabulous.  I know these books are not news to anyone, especially since they have been made into a movie.  Our kids being who they are, (at times due to questionable parenting) decided that I should own the “Unofficial Hunger Games Cookbook”.  They gave me the book for Christmas.  I decided to share a recipe with you today so you can get the full sense of how lovely this little cookbook is.  Of course, I went with a classic “Isabelle”: banana bread, a favorite around here….why change?  I mean you can’t go wrong with banana bread, right?

The Unofficial Hunger Games Cookbook

The Unofficial Hunger Games Cookbook

Note: if you don’t know the series, Mellark is the last name of Peeta, a character whose family owns a bakery.

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

Pinch of kosher salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

4 ripe bananas, mashed

1/2 cup melted butter

3/4 white sugar

1/4 turbinado sugar

1 egg, beaten

2 teaspoons vanilla

1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

How to:

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.  Grease or spray an 8X8 square pan.  Set aside.

In a medium bowl combine your flour, salt and baking soda.  Set aside.

In a large bowl (or in your mixer) mix together mashed bananas and butter.  Add both sugars, egg and vanilla.  Add your flour mixture and mix well to combine.  Fold in your chocolate chips.

Pour your mixture into your prepared pan.  Bake in your preheated oven for 45-60 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.  Cool on rack.  Remove bread from pan and serve.

Ready to bake

Ready to bake

Smelling Delicious!  I had to tell the kids to WAIT about 10 times!

Smelling Delicious! I had to tell the kids to WAIT about 10 times!

I simply love a good banana bread...this is looking perfect!

I simply love a good banana bread…this is perfect!

Lots of banana flavor and sweet chocolate, perfect union!

Lots of banana flavor and sweet chocolate, a perfect union!

Note: mine took the full 60 minutes but if your oven has  a raging personality it might take less.  Don’t pick a battle with your oven…let it do its job ;)

This bread was GONE in less than an hour….gone…the kids attacked it and the adults were left dumbfounded!

I think my next recipe from this fun cookbook will be: Rue and Katniss’s Apple-Smoked Groosling or Gale’s Bone-Pickin’ Big Game Soup  :)

Printer Friendly:  Mellark’s Secret Banana Bread

Peace and Gone,

Isabelle

Go check out this lovely linky party as well:

4 thoughts on “Mellark’s Secret Banana Bread

  1. Isabelle…I haven’t read the triology yet and must…I fought ‘Girl w/the Dragon Tatoo’ , read the first one, and was so hooked I didn’t want the 3rd to end…so now I reckon I’ll have to dive into the HG!! xo Ally

  2. Pingback: http://www.foodiefriendsfriday.com/2013/01/foodie-friends-friday-january-10th.html « CJ'S Loving Food Tour

  3. think, with some yummy rotting bananas I will try this one today! – No turbinado sugar however, will use some light brown as substitute ?

    Canadian living has a nice banana chocolate chip loaf..
    enjoy your visit with your dad..
    ak :)

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

