Pasta e Fagioli

Pasta E Fagioli

Pasta e Fagioli

This is an easy way to have a delicious fall,head into winter, meal full of vegetables and low-fat.  I made this recipe which could or should feed 8.  It’s all gone.  We had a little bit leftover but Bear took it all and mentioned the dish to me twice while we were running errands the following day.  I have to tell you this coming from the child who ate pasta with butter and Parmesan (freshly shaved if available, of course!) from 3 yrs old till about 11 yrs old…I say that’s a big deal in our home!  Especially since it has beans in it…she once sat for 2 hours staring at bowl of chili simply because she refused to even taste it!  That’s the rule around here: you can’t say you hate it if you haven’t even tasted the food, you HAVE to taste it.  Yeah, yeah, I know I am a meanie but then again both our girls are now adventurous eaters with a formidable palate!

Here’s my version of this delicious Italian dish…no need to go to that “silly-wannabe-not really Italian” Garden place….just sayin’!

Is it a soup...a stew or a Rachael Ray calls it: a stoup?  ;)

Is it a soup…a stew or as Rachael Ray calls it: a stoup? ;)

Ingredients:

1 lb Italian turkey sausage (sweet or hot which ever you prefer)

1 pound lean ground beef

2-ounce pancetta diced (or bacon if you prefer)

2 medium onion finely chopped

2 celery stalk finely chopped

1 carrot finely chopped

3 garlic cloves crushed and chopped

5 cups low-sodium chicken broth (or vegetable) (you may need to have another cup or so on hand)

1 28-ounce can small diced tomatoes (not drained)

2 cans (15.5-ounces each) cannellini or navy beans, well-drained and rinsed (keep 1 cup separate)

1 can (15.5-ounces) red kidney beans, well-drained and rinsed

1 tablespoon fresh rosemary (or 1 teaspoon dry)

1 tablespoon fresh thyme (or 1 teaspoon dry)

1 tablespoon dried basil

12-ounces small pasta (I had orecchiette but choose what you like as long as it is small)

Fresh Parmesan for serving

How to:

In a large soup pot or dutch oven, cook your sausage until no longer pink.  Remove to a plate and reserve.  Next cook your ground beef, once cooked remove to a plate and reserve.  In the same pot add you pancetta and cook until just crispy.  Add your onions, celery, carrots and garlic, cook on medium-low heat until soft and fragrant, do not burn or the garlic will taste bitter.  Add your meat back to your pot, along with the broth and canned tomatoes.  Bring to a simmer.  In a small bowl mash your reserved 1 cup of beans with a fork.  Add to your pot along with the other beans.  Add your herbs, salt and pepper to taste.  Bring to a gentle simmer and cook for 10-15 minutes.  You may halt your soup at this point until you are almost ready to eat.

the pausing point!

the pausing point!

Once you are 15 minutes from serving, bring back to a boil and add your pasta.  Cook until al dente (not mushy) about 8-10 minutes.  You may want to add liquid to your soup if you like a more brothy soup or leave it be.  I like to have a very thick consistency but it’s your battle, do as you wish!

Ladle your soup and sprinkle some Parmesan.  Dig in!

simply gorgeous!

simply gorgeous!

Printer Friendly: Pasta E Fagioli

Peace and No Garden Party Around Here!

Isabelle

Go check out my recipe on this great linky party as well:

        

8 thoughts on “Pasta e Fagioli

  1. This looks delicious and reminds me of the first time I made a similar version for my family. I had it cooking away in the crock pot while we went to the airport to pick up our daughter for her first college break home. She loved it and requests it frequently and I always make it for her first night home from college breaks. I love your addition of pancetta! Would love you to join our Foodie Friends Friday linky party with this recipe on Friday!

  2. I saw this mentioned on Everybody Loves Raymond the other night and wondered what it was. I am so excited to see this post, and I can’t wait to make it. There are 6 of us & larger recipes are a plus for me. I never seem to increase the right ingredients while trying to get more out of a recipe. My boys would happily devour cold pizza for breakfast, but one might think they were master chefs when critiquing my meals.

  3. Oh wow, this “stoup” looks fantastic and perfect for a cold winter’s day ….. too bad it’s 85 degrees in Fort Worth, Texas today. Grrr, I’m not a fan of this weather!!!! No doubt, I will definitely make this sometime. Thanks for sharing!

    P.S. I’m hosting my first link-up (eeek!) on December 12 to celebrate 12.12.12. I hope you’ll join me. Check it out here: http://wp.me/p2448I-Pi

    Blessings and hugs to you,
    Nicole @ Three 31

  4. This is gorgeous and so is your new look and you! Thank you so much for sharing on Thursday’s Treasures last week. I featured it on this week’s. Please grab the “I Was Featured On” button while you are there. I also have a new button for the party. <3 and hugs sweet friend!

  5. Pingback: Soups Round Up | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

