Lemontini

You know what we haven’t talked about in a while?  Cocktails.  Well truth be said, I talk about cocktails a lot…so much so that maybe I should call my blog “Isabelle at home drinking”.  But I won’t because that would convey the wrong message.  Best if people figure out I  enjoy my drinking as they peruse my blog.  I mean, I don’t have a problem with people knowing I enjoy the occasional (read almost nightly) cocktail or glass of wine.  I just don’t want them to think I am a ragging alcoholic.

Lemontini

I wanted to share with you a lovely Lemontini, and NO store bought stuff here.  Honestly, take the extra step.  It’s worth it.  Store bought Simple Syrup is ghastly.  Also use a real lemon.  I would venture to say use a good vodka but it’s a debate I am not having today.  Use the vodka YOU like!

The Usual Suspects (great movie…irrelevant but great movie!)

Ingredients: (note: this is for one selfish cocktail)

2 ounce vodka

1 ounce fresh lemon juice

1 ounce simple syrup (see recipe below)

2 pieces lemon peel (no white part that’s bitter)

ice (about 2 cup)

1-2 tablespoon of sugar

1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest

How to:

Put your martini glass in your freezer for at least 15 minutes or be like me and keep one in there at all time…ready like a good girl scout!  This is not my first rodeo folks!

In a small plate (flat surface is important) combine your sugar and your lemon zest.  Set aside.

In your cocktail shaker put your ice, vodka, lemon juice, simple syrup and lemon peel.  Using your best moves/dance moves shake it like you mean it.  This will release the lovely lemon oils and cool everything to the perfect chilled temperature.  Nothing is more demoralizing than a lukewarm martini.

Take your CHILLED martini glass and wet the rim (I like to use a lemon wedge for more flavor but water will work) dip your glass into your lemony sugar, coating the rim of your glass.

Strain your martini into your prepared glass.  STOP.  Find a quiet spot, put your feet up and take a slow sip of this delightful drink.

Cheers!

Note: some people say you should “shake” your cocktail shaker anywhere between 30-50 shakes but really…we are all adults here….I am not counting the shakes of my drink.  I am ridiculous, clumsy and goofy…I have to draw the line somewhere!

Simple Syrup:

1 cup water

1 cup sugar

1 lemon peel (optional)

How to:

In a saucepan put all your ingredients, bring to a boil and let the sugar dissolve.  Cool to room temperature.  Remove lemon peel.  Use immediately or store in your refrigerator until ready to use.

Simple Syrup (my “2″ pieces of lemon turned into 4-5 small pieces)

Note: this will give you an infused simple syrup.  You do not have to use the lemon peel.

Printer Friendly:  Lemontini

Peace and Fresh,

Isabelle

11 thoughts on “Lemontini

  1. Isabelle,

    I get this email and enjoy everything you send. I have tried so many recipes, and try to always have the same passion and enthusiasm that your writing conveys.

    But I have to tell you that your Lemontini receipt could not be more appropriate for me. As that is my favorite cocktail….ever… and have struggled for years to get a recipe. Thank you thank you thank you.

    Keep all your wonderful posts coming.

    Joyce Vorhies dear friend,

    Beth Broderick The Sports Corp, Inc. 317-541-0569 Cell: 317-459-4300

  2. Isabelle, I was introduced to your blog by a good (mutual) friend – Anna Krista. Anna and I talk food all the time. I am a food affecianado (not quite sure of that spelling). Anyway, I loooove food, I loooove cookies and I loooove your blog!!! You provide great recipes and you make me smile every time. I hope I get to meet you someday when you come to Montreal. Keep up the fun and joy of food and life. Cynthia

  3. Pingback: Holiday Gifts & Treats. Part Two: Savory | Isabelle at home

I love your comments...like I love cookies,please leave one ;)

